Chicken Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Absolute best chicken dumpling soup recipe ever! Bursting with flavor, though i did change it a bit: For the dumplings, i used whole wheat flour and only 1 cup of turkey. (It was a dumpling and turkey soup because that's what I had, but it tasted phenomenal!) They were fantastic, though i would recommend cooking them for at least 10-15 minutes. As for the soup, I followed what it said, but didn't use onions or celery and sauteed minced garlic in about 1 Tbsp. butter, I also used peas and carrots, and added 2 bay leaves, about 2-4 tsp. parsley and 1/2-1 tsp. tarragon. All-in-all....AMAZING and will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I thought this was a great recipe. I used a rotisserie chicken from the grocery to save time...I would recommend to reduce the salt if you do this. Otherwise really good and hit the spot on a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
when my mom was cooking it,it smelled good.when i tasted it was pretty good.i didnt really like the dumplings.[my mom added peas and subtracted a little flower]. zack Mom: I cooked the chicken, carrots, celery, and some quinoa in the crock pot while at work. It was easy to make the dumplings, boil stock and throw it together. I liked it; will make it again, might go more Italian like a wedding soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I didnt use the flour in the broth as not sure how it would taste and wanted a more healty alternative. the dumplings were wonderful. I saved a ton of money buying a whole chicken and making my own broth. I also added parsnips love it. I love this web site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great soup, reminded me of pot pie. Easy to put together,dumplings were delicious, just the right amout of chicken. I love to cook and find new recipes, will add this one to my box. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I enjoyed making this dish. It was my first time making chicken and dumplings and it turned out tasty. I will make this again but with a couple of changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I omitted the chx in the dumplings, and halved the chicken in the pot. I added a chopped potato and substituted cinnamon for the tarragon. Also, I ended up desiring a thicker, creamier soup, so i mixed a few Tb flour with a cup of milk and stirred that in towards the end. Delicious outcome and fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I agree the dumplings were a bit too mushy. I added a little flour. I made a few other changes, simply because we like our carbs. I added more broth and bowtie pasta. Overall, this was a fantastic recipe. We loved it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
VERY GOOD*****I modified it a bit with adding less chicken & used fresh tarragon for my dumplings. It does take longer than listed however it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is the only recipe I have ever found that I didn't modify drastically. I only cut out the salt (the saltiness from the broth is plenty), blended everything but the flour and whisked it in and added more broth. Awesome, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States