Chicken Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Not bad flavor although time consuming.my dumplings totally fell apart.it turned into a very thick soup.I would try again but with store bought dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Wentz
Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I grew up around Chicken and Dumplings. My grandma is southern and makes it all the time. I have her recipe and through the years have given it a couple tries myself. I have always liked it. I stumbled on this recipe and gave it a try. I LOVED this one soooo much more. No offense to dear grandma but this soup is delicious. My family begs me to make it and although it does take some time the outcome is rewarding. The thing i like the most is actually using chicken in the dumplings. It is not only delicious but very filling. 5 stars! if i could give it more stars i would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Absolute best chicken dumpling soup recipe ever! Bursting with flavor, though i did change it a bit: For the dumplings, i used whole wheat flour and only 1 cup of turkey. (It was a dumpling and turkey soup because that's what I had, but it tasted phenomenal!) They were fantastic, though i would recommend cooking them for at least 10-15 minutes. As for the soup, I followed what it said, but didn't use onions or celery and sauteed minced garlic in about 1 Tbsp. butter, I also used peas and carrots, and added 2 bay leaves, about 2-4 tsp. parsley and 1/2-1 tsp. tarragon. All-in-all....AMAZING and will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I thought this was a great recipe. I used a rotisserie chicken from the grocery to save time...I would recommend to reduce the salt if you do this. Otherwise really good and hit the spot on a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
when my mom was cooking it,it smelled good.when i tasted it was pretty good.i didnt really like the dumplings.[my mom added peas and subtracted a little flower]. zack Mom: I cooked the chicken, carrots, celery, and some quinoa in the crock pot while at work. It was easy to make the dumplings, boil stock and throw it together. I liked it; will make it again, might go more Italian like a wedding soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I didnt use the flour in the broth as not sure how it would taste and wanted a more healty alternative. the dumplings were wonderful. I saved a ton of money buying a whole chicken and making my own broth. I also added parsnips love it. I love this web site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great soup, reminded me of pot pie. Easy to put together,dumplings were delicious, just the right amout of chicken. I love to cook and find new recipes, will add this one to my box. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I enjoyed making this dish. It was my first time making chicken and dumplings and it turned out tasty. I will make this again but with a couple of changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I omitted the chx in the dumplings, and halved the chicken in the pot. I added a chopped potato and substituted cinnamon for the tarragon. Also, I ended up desiring a thicker, creamier soup, so i mixed a few Tb flour with a cup of milk and stirred that in towards the end. Delicious outcome and fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I agree the dumplings were a bit too mushy. I added a little flour. I made a few other changes, simply because we like our carbs. I added more broth and bowtie pasta. Overall, this was a fantastic recipe. We loved it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States