Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
This stuff is seriously tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I absolutely love this recipe. I have made it so many times - I can do it by memory. I have even added more curry powder and lemon juice. They compliment each other well.. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
great recipe, I added more milk to make it creamier, we like a lot of sauce here in our house! I liked using cream of celery better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Hey Beth! I love your new spin on an "old hat" recipe. The curry and lemon bring this old basic to life. I made two batches, froze one and took the other to church potluck yesterday. You're right...we all loved it, but the men scarfed it down like they had eaten in months. I guess its like an unspoken compliment to this dish hehehe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Absolutely delicious Beth! I added quite a bit more curry and my family gobbled this dish right up! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Ok, this is the Chicken Divan "Mamaw" used to make. Certainly not an every-day dish, but for me, perfect nostalgia/comfort-food. I use cream-of-mushroom instead of cream of chicken, which I think added a nice touch. I told myself I was making it a bit healthier by using fresh mushrooms, Campbell's Healthy Request soup(low fat & sodium), and Duke's Light mayo and it comes out beautifully. I don't think there's any other substitutions that can be made, though. I tried using low-fat cheese once, and it just made a yellow plastic shell that I literally peeled off the top of the casserole. I also add crushed Ritz crackers on top of it all to make a crunchy topping and I think it was an outstanding addition. (Well, that could just be my nostalgia popping up again; Mamaw thought everything was better with a crunchy topping.) Anyway, and as to the too "saucy" that a couple people had problems with; you're not adding water to the soup, are you? Just add the condensed soup as a base, you don't add the water. Those fresh mushrooms I've been using should be adding a lot more moisture than canned mushrooms, but it's never been soupy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
This is a fantastic recipe. I have made it about 10 times already and everytime I make it for friends, they leave with the recipe in hand. I made this recipe for a cub scout gathering and had 5 people ask me for the recipe. Easy, and not time consuming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Not sure what the other woman was talking about in her review when she mentioned this came out 'saucy'. When I made it, it came out a perfect consistency and everyone in my family devoured it in no time! My Mom asked me for the recipe too. This one is a keeper in our house for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This is the same recipe I've made for years without the mushrooms and water chestnuts, and it's always a big success (although I avoid it when I'm serving folks who avoid "rich" foods). I'm looking forward to adding the mushrooms and waterchestnuts next time. This week I used leftover pork tenderloin instead of chicken and it was more delicious than ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This recipe is delicious! I've made it several times with a slight variation: 1) I cut 4 chicken breasts into cubes and boil (while steaming the broccoli)until done 2) I spread the broccoli, cooked chicken water-chestnuts, and fresh, sliced mushroom in the casserole dish 3) I blend 1/2 cup Light Miracle Whip, 2 cans of Campbell's Reduced Fat Cream of Chicken Soup, juice of 1 lemon, 1/2 cup (or so) of white wine, 1/4 cup of chicken broth, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, and 1 tsp of curry powder 4) I pour the mixture over the meat/veggies 5) Stir the mixture together lightly 6) Cover the mixture with breadcrumbs and melted butter 7) Bake @ 350 until bubbly (30 - 40 mins). Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States