Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My extended family has made this recipe for 20 years...with a few changes. We don't use mushroom or the butter and in the last 15 minutes of baking we add a layer of cheddar cheese or garlic croutons and top them with 8 oz of shredded cheddar cheese. The croutons make this dish, IMHO. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This recipe was really pretty good. I substituted one of the cans of cream of chicken soup for a can of cream of mushroom soup. We weren't a big fan of the mushrooms that were called for, so next time I think I'll omit them all together. Also, I think I'll mix the cheese in with the soup/mayonaise mixture rather than putting it on top. But all in all, pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Started making this before I realized - no soup! So made microwave white sauce, added cheese, curry & lemon juice, left out mayo. Cooked rice & stirred it in too (was making a quick trip to cottage & wanted one dish to carry for supper). Result...Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wingham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This is basically the marvelous chicken divan recipe I make regularly and is so coveted by my family. However, I add 1 c of sour cream to the soup/mayo/lemon juice/curry layer, and this is such a must! I can't imagine it without the sour cream. I always add about 3 t of curry, since it is just so yummy and seems the perfect amount. Also, I never add the mushrooms, as I've never heard of chicken divan w/ mushrooms. I also top this with a layer of buttered breadcrumbs and then lightly cover w/ a layer of Parmesan cheese. I think you will find the breadcrumb topping makes it so much better. This is a family favorite by almost everyone who makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Great comfort food! Cut this recipe in half since I was only making dinner for hubby and I (with some leftovers!). I used fresh mushrooms and broc and did not have water chestnuts, so will have to try again as I think they would add great texture! I only used 1/4 cup light miracle whip, added some white wine, juice from one quarter of a lemon, 1/2 tsp curry powder, a handful of fresh parm and one can of reduced fat cream of chicken soup. I decided to add some panko crumbs on the top too with some reduced fat cheddar. Served over brown rice and this made a yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I thought this recipe was pretty average. Not a meal I would serve to guests. It was runny, & didn't hold much of a shape, not very nice looking on the plate, and the taste was just ok for us. Maybe I was expecting a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Love it! My father's new wife (married 1 yr) made this for me when we were visiting them. I substituted the Mayo with FAT FREE MIRACLE WHIP and used low fat, low sodium chicken soup. It made at least 10 servings for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was very good! Didn't have cream of chicken soup so I just doubled the mushroom soup! Also added curry powder and topped with French's fried onions (as suggested by others). Gave it a nice taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very good. My kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mcewen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This recipe was very good. I did not add water chestuts because my children do not like them. I think about 1/4 cup of canned milk or half and half would make the sauce seep into the chicken and broccoli better so that the sauce does not just sit on top. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States