Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Family loved this! Used 2 bags of frozen broccoli, a package of chicken tenders, a pack of fresh sliced mushrooms, eliminated the water chestnuts, used cream o' mushroom soup, lite mayo and the juice of a half a lemon, I had no curry, so I used a mixed up seasoning salt, I also added buttered breadcrumbs to the top. My kiddos really loved it....very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I changed it slightly, but it makes all the difference. After I put EXTRA sharp cheddar on the top, I then top with buttered bread crumbs and bake. The crispy buttery topping really makes it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I loved this twist on a simple recipe I ate as a child. I did not add mushrooms, but I used cream of mushroom sooup. I did not add the water chestnuts because I don't like them, and I substituted sour cream for mayonnaise. I added extra curry powder and it was DELICIOUS. My boyfriend told me it would never be as good as his grandmother makes (and it's his favorits) and after he tasted it he addmitted how wrong he was! I will definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
4 stars because I really cut back on the creamyness of this dish. No soup used.I only used 2tbs mayo, no butter and used 1/4 cup skim milk & 1/2 cup light sour cream. I also left out the water chesnuts because I don't care for them. So I used 1 cup of rice. Overall I really enjoyed this dish and I liked the mushrooms which changed it up from normal chicken divan. I topped my casserole with french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Good stuff. I misplaced a recipe similar to this which omitted the water chestnuts and the cheddar cheese. I use about 3/4 cups of butter bread crumbs in place of the cheddar cheese which reduces the fat and still taste great. Used a reduced fat soup also. The curry powder and the lemon juice are the statrs in this recipe, don't omit these two ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This recipe was definitley a hit with us. This rich, simple to make, will for sure be made again. We had it with a lettuce-less salad and a multigrain mini roll. Leftovers were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This wasn;t good at all. My husband thought it was ok. I was only able to eat it with saltines crumbled on it, my husband put italian crutonson his. I don't know HOW people thought it was too runny, mine was almost like paste. It tasted like I was eating condensed chicken soup out of the can. To be fair, I've never eaten chicken dian before, maybe it's just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
We enjoyed this variation of chicken divan. The curry and lemon juice gave it a nice taste; next time I may just add a little bit more curry. Also, just out of habit I put some buttered bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Delish!!! Doubled up on everything (no water chestnuts) for a work fundraiser. The curry really makes it. I was suprised that there was no call for onions or garlic... so I cooked my chicken in diced onions and used a cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup instead of one of the cream of chicken cans. With or without changes or mushrooms, this is comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States