Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was really good. I used uncooked broccoli, chopped and worked great... still got pretty mushy without being precooked. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
this was tasty. But were I to make this again, I would change it up some. First off, i found this was so rich I needed antacids afterwards, so i would substitute sour cream or yogurt for part of the mayo. Also, I would double the amount of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Well, I definitely tweaked this recipe, but it was SO good!! I sauteed fresh broccoli in about 3 tbsp butter with a pinch of salt and fresh ground pepper, used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of chicken, nixed the water chestnuts and lemon juice, used about half a cup of light mayo, fresh mushrooms and about 3/4 cups sharp cheddar cheese, and leftover chicken (white and dark meat). Threw in some rotisserie chicken spice, garlic powder, dried chopped onions, and some more pepper. Mixed everything together and then spread into the baking dish and topped with a thin layer of more cheese and french fried onions. Served over buttered egg noodles. OMG. One of the best things I have ever tasted. I will definitely be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
FANTASTIC recipe! I use 3-4 tsps. of curry, 1 cup of shredded cheese (I'm a cheese fanatic) and sprinkle bread crumbs over the top before baking. Absolutely amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is really tasty! My family was thinking about the dish after it was gone, wishing there were more! I added a 13 oz.box of cooked of whole wheat penne, omitted the cayenne, butter, water chestnuts and used shredded Parmesan cheese due to our personal preferences. I also added a good 1/4 cup of GOOD sherry (do NOT use cooking sherry as it's full of salt) and used the rest of a rotisserie chicken that I had. My family requested this dish within a week; it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
One of the first family meals I learned to cook from my mom as a kid! We never put water Chestnuts or mushrooms in it. I'll have to give that a try. I never use measurements anymore, but I always use at least 2 tablespoons lemon juice and a couple tablespoons curry, and cream of chicken soup instead. I mix about a cup of cheese in with the soup and mayo, then sprinkle more cheese on top. Brown some cornflakes in butter for a crunchy topping. Recently I've started simplifying by buying a bag of precooked frozen cubed chicken and cooking frozen broccoli. It turns this dish into a quick put together, and I haven't noticed any compromise on taste! Perfect over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I think this recipe is great as is. Flavors remind me exactly of how Mom used to make this. I stir it all together instead of letting the sauce bake on top, seems to cook more evenly. I also serve over brown rice. Easy week night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendra1215

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is amazingly good! This is very similar to a recipe my mom handed down to me. I love mushrooms but my kids don't so I only put them on half of the dish. My whole family just loved this and wanted to know when I will make it again :) If you are lucky enough to have any left over it tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was great. I omitted the water chestnuts because I didn't have them. I also crushed some almonds and sprinkled them on top. Family enjoyed this...I will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Yummy!!! Husband had seconds and kept telling me how good it was. I did not have mushrooms or water chestnuts but did add steamed chopped celery. I used 12 ounces of cream of chicken and added about a cup of milk and 1/2 cup of Mayonnaise. I doubled the curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States