Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Taste was excellent. I cut down the mayo to 1/2 cup, used 3 chicken breasts (fried), 4 cups of fresh broccoli and 4 extra large mushrooms sliced, 1 can each cream of chicken and cream of mushroom soups. This yielded enough to accommodate the sauce perfectly and a 3 qt casserole dish was just right. The texture however wasn't very nice. Don't precook the broccoli, it definitely goes slimy as stated in another review. Also, let the dish sit a few minutes after it comes out if the oven, it thickened and the sauce was nicer. I served it with pasta. Definitely use the curry as it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneRoberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Yum!!!! I used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 light sour cream, one can of soup, and doubled the broccoli & chicken..I also thinned the soup mixture with some white wine and chicken broth, so I could pour it over the top. Next time I will NOT cook the broccoli and mushrooms ahead of time, as they were kinda slimy...definitely include the curry!!! Such good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Same recipe my mom made growing up! I love it served with rice. I do not use mushrooms or waterchestnuts. But it's fabulous. Growing up we always poached chicken for this recipe.I really enjoyed the shredded chicken. I grabbed a rotisserie, shredded the bird and it was ready to go. I will say this is a LOT of sauce. It really does go nice over white rice. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was excellent! Used 1 bag frozen broccoli cuts, 1 rotiserrie chicken and substituted white wine for lemon juice(preference), mixed ALL together, topped with cheese--yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My family loves this recipe!! This is a every other week meal.. Thank you for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Van De Kreke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was another good recipe. I did make it with the water chesnuts; however, no-one like the change in texture they added. So next time I will leave them out. Thanks again or another great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is a good base recipe. I made it just like it says and it was too moist for our family. I am curious to try some of the variations listed in the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I think that this recipe is tasty. However, a bit on the saucy side as is. So, I doubled the chicken and the broccoli. Likewise you could halve everything but the chicken and broccoli. Also, I found that the broccoli was a bit over down for my taste. So, I steamed fresh broccoli separately and baked the other ingredients together. Then I arranged the broccoli on a serving platter and spooned the chicken mixture over top. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
this is devine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States