Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This recipe has amazing flavors to it. All of us were at the table trying to figure out how in the world all of the flavors meshed together so well. Not that this is a bad dish, but I think that it'd have been better to add something...more solid (?) to the dish. Like rice or pasta. Good dish to experiment with and make perfect to your standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It is runny and has an obnoxious appearance. It needs bread crumbs added to absorb the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I not only added sour cream but I also did cream of potatoes and also sliced potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I love this recipe but for a couple of changes. First of all I halved the recipe. I used steamable broccoli and instead of shredding the cooked chicken I quartered 2 chicken breasts. I used 1/2 cup of mayo, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1 can cream of chicken soup(do not add water)1 tsp lemon juice and curry powder to taste about 1T. We love the curry flavor. Mixed these together and layered the broccoli on the bottom of a sprayed 8" baking dish, then added the quartered cooked chicken breasts and poured the cream mixture on top and finally added shredded cheddar cheese to the top. Baked 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. This is so good. I can't imagine this recipe without sour cream in the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was delightful! I essentially boiled the chicken on stove top in a deep pan, half full of chicken broth, then used my Magic Bullet to shred the chicken. I loved the texture this gave the dish! I used a bit less of everything as I was only cooking for two, and only one can cream of chicken. Two seemed a bit excessive. I steamed the broccoli, mushrooms and added onion on stove top for about 7 minutes, and combined it with the shredded chicken. I also added double the curry powder, coarse black pepper, and sour cream to the cream sauce. I'd like to add white wine next time! The Boyfriend went back for three servings, so it must have been good. I paired with some twice baked potatoes. It was some much needed comfort food on a rough Monday. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
A wonderful recipe! Kind of a blast from the past! I made a half version and took into consideration some of the comments of others and they were good calls. Used 1 1/2 tsp curry powder and cut back on the mayo to just over 1/4 cup. Did not use the mushrooms or water chestnuts. Topped with some grated parmesan cheese (was afraid my reduced fat cheddar would melt into a glob) and then some buttered Ritz crackers. Baked about 35 min, and it was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
On the positive, the dish was very pretty and easy to prepare. It was very bland, though. After I baked it and after tasting it, I added breadcrumbs, salt and pepper. It was runnier than in the picture. I would definitely make this dish again, adding seasoning and breadcrumbs to the sauce before baking, and subbing sour cream, or something for the mayo (I didn't care for the taste in the sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I was surprised at how much I liked this. The ingrediants just seem like a strange combo. I cut back on the sauce to about 1/3 of a cup of light mayo and one can of soup. Was plenty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I loved it; the family thought it was good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made this exactly as directed and both my husband and I thought it was awesome. It was extremely easy and consists of ingredients I ALWAYS have on hand. The only things I will change the next time I make it is the addition of cauliflower and rice, but that it strictly personal taste, I certainly wouldn't cry if I did not have those on hand next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States