Chicken Dijon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I've been making this dish for 20 years. For anyone who finds this recipe a little bland, it will make a big difference in flavor if you add 1/2 tsp Lemon Pepper and 1/2 tsp. Onion Salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I also add fresh sliced mushrooms and salt and fresh ground pepper. For those not wanting to mess with the sauce, jarred chicken gravy saves that step. My sons love it served over wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
My mother makes a similar dish that is my favorite way to eat chicken... dredge the chicken in flour and seasoning of your choice, brown in butter and oil. Take chicken out, to the pan add dijon and vermouth (around half a jar and 1/4 of a bottle, can be played around with to your tastes, I like a lot of mustard) add a dollop of sour cream. Mix, simmer and add chicken. My mom covers at this point and cooks until the sauce is thick, you could also serve now. We like this with cheese potatoes or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I've made Chicken Dijon for my family for years and this recipe lacks a few key ingredients. Season the chicken first with some lemon pepper and garlic or onion powder. I also pound/tenderize the breasts before seasoning as well so they cook evenly. I don't use butter any longer, using a cooking spray and non-stick pan works just fine without the additional calories. For fool proof gravy, whisk the 1/2 and 1/2 with flour in separate bowl before adding to pan (I even just use lowfat milk sometimes). Add chicken back to the gravy mixture & serve over rice. My husband and kids request this meal every couple of weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I have been making this exact recipe from the Colorado Cache Cookbook for many years. One of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
As previously mentioned I put a slice of provolone cheese on before the sauce and added mushrooms to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Try adding mushrooms to this one...makes it really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I thought it was Yummy. My finicky kid thought it was OK and hard to please husband thought it was good. I added a piece of Provolone cheese on top of each chicken breast and put it under the broiler till melted before I put the sauce on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made several adjustments following other member's advice. I pounded my chicken to 1/2" thick and seasoned with poultry seasoning. I added some kosher salt, fresh cracked black pepper, and seasoning salt. I did not put in the oven. Was very good and we liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina Rust
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I rate the recipe as is, 4 stars. However utilizing others comments I made it into a 5 star recipe. Here's what I did to make it extra good... 1.I pounded the chicken to 1/2" thick and seasoned it generously with lemon-pepper 2.I doubled the sauce, I had a little extra, but wouldn't have had enough if I hadn't doubled 3.I added 2 tsp of minced garlic and 2 tsp of minced shallots to the pan once chicken was done cooking, and sauteed til tender 4.I cut the chicken broth down to 3/4 c and added 1/4 of an oaky chardonay 5.I used honey dijon mustard 6.I added provalone to the chicken before putting the sauce over it. I cooked as directed, though my oven would not go that low. It's great to prepare this meal in advance and then pop it in the oven at a higher temp for the recommended time when your ready to eat. My boyfriend loved it, and it was something new to both of us that we both enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Rust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States