Chicken Dijon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
The sauce on this is super delicious. I felt like a French chef! A little lemon pepper and dried basal brightened it up in a lovely way for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ltldove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Just about everything we cook needs a little seasoning- I don't want to put any words into the contributor's mouth, but I'd be a bit surprised if Janet didn't do something to it- even just a little salt and pepper would be almost automatic when doing the browning. I did, plus a little garlic, as others have done as well, plus a dash of Mrs. Dash's lemon poultry seasoning. But what really made it quite delicious for myself and Dad was adding tarragon to the sauce while simmering. Tarragon, dijon and chicken? A marriage made in heaven (well, you get the drift...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good and very easy, had dinner ready in about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Excellent dish. My family thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. The only thing I added was a little salt and pepper. This was a very quick and easy recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly (something I rarely do) and it was very good. My guest enjoyed it enough to ask for the recipe. I may make it again but I would season the chicken and try adding sautéed mushrooms to the sauce before serving. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Greetings from Shizuoka, Japan! Being born in Dijon, it was a great pleasure to read your recipe! Back home we just take the whole chicken, season it with salt and pepper inside and outside. Then we cover it competely in Dijon mustard and bake it whole in the oven with a lttle oil and butter we baste it from time to time! Now have you tried drinking Cote Chalonnaise white like Rully, Bouzeron, Montagny or Givry with it? Once again congratulations! Robert-Gilles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShizuokaGourmet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Solid family fare. Very tasty. I flattened the chicken breasts slightly since they seem to cook more evenly that way, and sprinkled them quite liberally with Lawry's Chicken Seasoning and Rub before browning. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This recipe as it stands is bland, bland and bland...I used a creamy dijon "maille" brand from France thinking that any more "rustic" mustard would be too much for this dish. Use the spiciest, hottest dijon that you can find. It is a nice cream sauce just waiting for some more flavouring. Take the advice of other reviewers and add a rub while frying up the chicken or add something more to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This recipe was a good base. It just seems to be lacking something. I did add the provolone prior to adding the sauce. I sauteed the chicken with a garlic pepper seasoning and then added minced garlic before the flour. Everyone liked the finished product. I do believe I will use stone ground mustard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
As I stands, I think it's an "okay" recipe. As a chef, if you really want to make this a stand out dish, then leave out the flour, use heavy cream (although if you're cutting fat, you can get away with fat free half and half, but it's not as impressive), add stone ground mustard (gives it some oopmh in texture and flavor) and tarragon to taste. Serve it with some type of potato (Duchesse or croquettes are perfect) and a delicate green veg like asparagus. Preparing the dish this way is not only easier, but these small changes make it a truly French dish that's wonderful in both taste and appearance. You can also switch it around a bit and use beef tenderloin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States