Chicken Dijon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
As written, this recipe is worthy of two stars, as there is not much flavor going on here. The recipe noticeably is absent of any seasonings, including salt and pepper. With my modifications, however, I'd call this 4 stars--much better. I dredged the chicken in flour seasoned with Montreal Chicken Seasoning before browning, but added no flour to the sauce as I knew it wouldn't be necessary. After removing the chicken from the pan, I sauteed shallots and minced garlic before adding the broth, half and half, some white wine, and the Dijon. As the sauce reduced I added some chopped, fresh tarragon for added dimension and flavor which really worked nicely. I admit the end result was probably a different dish, albeit a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I'm sure this is a great recipe alone, but I used it as a base to recreate one of my favorite restaurants dishes. I seasoned the chicken with lemon-pepper seasoning & then followed the rest of the sauce prep. I then placed the chicken on a bed of cooked spinach, topped with the sauce & provolone cheese. Then I baked it for a few minutes to melt the cheese. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
As I stands, I think it's an "okay" recipe. As a chef, if you really want to make this a stand out dish, then leave out the flour, use heavy cream (although if you're cutting fat, you can get away with fat free half and half, but it's not as impressive), add stone ground mustard (gives it some oopmh in texture and flavor) and tarragon to taste. Serve it with some type of potato (Duchesse or croquettes are perfect) and a delicate green veg like asparagus. Preparing the dish this way is not only easier, but these small changes make it a truly French dish that's wonderful in both taste and appearance. You can also switch it around a bit and use beef tenderloin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Although there was no reason for the chicken to be placed on a warmed plate, or in the oven afterward, this recipe was wonderful! Once the chicken was sauteed, I merely set it aside and made the sauce. Once the sauce was done, I put the chicken back into the sauce pan and let it simmer. I did, of course add, onion and garlic powders along with black pepper and fresh rosemary. Great Janet and thanks so much for a fantastic recipe that my family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I marinated the chicken in mustard and balsamic vinegar overnight. A very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Wonderful!!! Made it exactly as the recipe instructed and LOVED it! Seved over whole wheat egg noodles. I'm definitley making again maybe adding mushrooms and some spinach. Yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
That was absolutely fantastic! :) I've just finished eating, and ran to the computer immediately. ;) The only things I changed were: I sliced the chicken to increase the cooking time, and didn't put it in the oven - instead I added the chicken pieces back to the sauce once it was ready and reheated. I also used taragon mustard as I didn't have dijon handy. Absolutely excellent recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina Rust
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I rate the recipe as is, 4 stars. However utilizing others comments I made it into a 5 star recipe. Here's what I did to make it extra good... 1.I pounded the chicken to 1/2" thick and seasoned it generously with lemon-pepper 2.I doubled the sauce, I had a little extra, but wouldn't have had enough if I hadn't doubled 3.I added 2 tsp of minced garlic and 2 tsp of minced shallots to the pan once chicken was done cooking, and sauteed til tender 4.I cut the chicken broth down to 3/4 c and added 1/4 of an oaky chardonay 5.I used honey dijon mustard 6.I added provalone to the chicken before putting the sauce over it. I cooked as directed, though my oven would not go that low. It's great to prepare this meal in advance and then pop it in the oven at a higher temp for the recommended time when your ready to eat. My boyfriend loved it, and it was something new to both of us that we both enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Rust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Excellent, excellent, excellent. Tasted like something you'd get at a fancy restaurant, and the preparation was easy. Very good served over rice with peas and mushrooms, or try with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This dish was wonderful and easy. Cooking the chicken breasts is the longest part of the process, but you want it cooked thoroughly! The butter, as opposed to margarine, makes for a much richer sauce, as does using heavy cream. I served it with broccoli and wild rice - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States