Chicken Dijon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
my gut told me to dredge the chicken first in flour or bread crumbs before browning, but i decided to stay true (or very close) to the recipe. BIG mistake. the chicken was so, SO bland and tasted like an afterthought. the sauce was really good, and i added a little more broth and half and half once i saw how little it made. the sauce is what saved my rating this a 1 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
As written, this recipe is worthy of two stars, as there is not much flavor going on here. The recipe noticeably is absent of any seasonings, including salt and pepper. With my modifications, however, I'd call this 4 stars--much better. I dredged the chicken in flour seasoned with Montreal Chicken Seasoning before browning, but added no flour to the sauce as I knew it wouldn't be necessary. After removing the chicken from the pan, I sauteed shallots and minced garlic before adding the broth, half and half, some white wine, and the Dijon. As the sauce reduced I added some chopped, fresh tarragon for added dimension and flavor which really worked nicely. I admit the end result was probably a different dish, albeit a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Oops. I forgot that my husband hates condiments. He smelled the mustard and refused to eat it. However, I enjoyed it. It was a little bland, so next time I'll add the onion and some rosemary like another person suggested. Really easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mara t.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I make this recipe often but have a couple of changes. Before sauteeing the breasts I flatten them with a meat mallet to ensure they cook throughout and then salt and pepper them before dipping in flour. I use 1 1/2 T. butter and 1 1/2 T. canola oil for sauteeing the breasts. For the sauce, I add 1/2 c. cooking sherry. This is a family favorite. My kids love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This chicken was excellent and quick to make. I seasoned the breasts with lemon pepper before pan frying. When the gravy/sauce was ready, I spooned a little over each breast then topped them with a slice of mild white Cheddar cheese. I broiled them until the cheese melted and was bubbling. I served this with rice and used the extra sauce to spoon over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Love it. Family favorite now. I love putting the extra creamy sauce all over my rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
A wonderful dish that I have made several times now. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I'd say an average flavor. I thought there'd be more of a kick. I ended up doubling the mustard, adding a touch of red pepper flakes, and letting it marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Got rave reviews from the mouths I fed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Kalik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
My husband and I both thought this was okay. My 8 year old daughter did not like. I don't think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States