Chicken Delicious Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I served this at a Christmas dinner and everyone raved about how tender the chicken was. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't have any problems with salt content. I would add some extra vegetables next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
OK, not great, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
too salty for us, and no one was asking for seconds. sorry, just not five star all recipes material...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This recipe seemed to be lacking something. Because it was so easy, we will probably try it again, but we'll have to play with it to get it so that it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
My family did not like this. I omitted the salt as suggested by others and I added a little more sherry than called for and it was just bland. The texture of the chicken was great. I cooked 3 boneless chicken breasts on low for 5 hrs. It just is lacking something, onions might have been nice. Needs more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was a good basic recipe for us. I washed and dried the chicken breast the night before. In a bowl I mixed 2 tbsp. of fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp. of paprika, 1/2 tsp. of ground black pepper. I then brushed the breast with mixture, put in a zip lock bag added remaining mixture to bag which wasn't much. Put in fridge. I diced up some fresh celery and onion and put in a seperate bag. Next morning I put chicken in crockpot, mixed together my fresh celery/onion with one can of cream of mushroom soup 99% fat free and in place of sherry used 1/2 cup of chicken broth and half cup of grated parmesen cheese. Poured over chicken and dinner was ready when we got home. Served with brown rice and a salad. Simple comfort food. Thank you so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
The name of this recipe says it all - it is truly delicious! I didn't change a thing and I cooked it on low for ten hours. I meant to add mushrooms about an hour before serving, but I got busy working in my flower beds and forgot! I will add them next time. My guys LOVED this. Served it over rice and with steamed vegetables. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
My whole family loved this dish, so it's a keeper! I used bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs ('cause that's what I had) that were still frozen when I plunked them in the crock-pot. I did follow the recipe as far as using the soups, but added a couple shakes of Fine Herbes and some fresh garlic and a shake or two of red pepper flakes. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion to remove the chicken at the end and broil it with the parmesean and that was delightful! I boiled some penne (because that's what I had), mixed it with the sauce that I defatted, and placed two or three chicken thighs on top for each serving. The chicken was so tender! Next time I will use boneless, skinless breasts, but it's good to know that I acheieved delicious results with frozen chicken thighs. I might even add the white wine or sherry (I used sherry this time) at the last hour because I like the taste, and I couldn't quite taste it this time, however, it was still delicious. I also might add some cream and/or cornstarch to thicken the sauce before serving (once it's done cooking) Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
The idea of cream of celery with chicken is a great idea. However, I changed the recipe a bit since I am only cooking for 2. With 2 large chicken breasts (about 1/2 lb each),I used 1/4 teaspoon of paprika, celery salt, and ground black pepper. 1 tablespoon of fresh Lemon juice over the meat after sprinkling with the dry ingredients. I omitted the cream of mushroom soup and just used 1 can of cream of celery with 1/4 can of reduced fat milk and 1/3 cup of white wine. The whole thing sat in the crock pot for about 6 hours. It came out tasting wonderful. =) Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Like so many others, I thought this was salty even though I omitted the celery salt. I used low-sodium soups so I think it might have been the cheap cooking sherry I used. When will I learn never to use a wine bought in the condiment section of the grocery store! ;o) While it was a little salty, it was still pretty good. I also used thin chicken breasts & thought they were a little overcooked; I only cooked them on low for about 6 hrs... maybe it was because I only used four breasts? I added some chopped mushroooms & celery because I had some on hand, then I added 3 cloves of minced garlic because I love garlic. The garlic did complement the flavors of the sauce a lot. I added a little more than 1/2 c. of low sodium chicken broth to the sauce about halway through the cooking..,.I guess it needed it because of the lack of juices from the missing chicken. I did not add the parmesan to the crockpot (so I can't blame the saltiness of the sauce on that). Instead, after it had cooked, I transfered the chicken to a glass baking dish & sprinkled them w/ the parmesan & put them under the broiler until the cheese was melted & golden. Then I poured the sauce around the chicken, being careful not to pour it on the chicken, thereby maintaining my beautiful cheese topping. I served it w/ boiled new potatoes (really good w/ the sauce) & pan-fried asparagus (from this site). All in all a very good meal but it will better the next time I make it w/ a quality sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States