Chicken David Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very tasty !! I didn't have prosciutto or salami so I used all I could find ......bologna and pepperoni. Weird I know, but it still produced good flavors in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I love this recipe! I've been making it for many years now. I tend to enjoy the chicken cut into small pieces, and I do add more cream to make a lighter and thicker sauce. I highly recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Made this for company recently, they loved it too. Mine didn't look nearly as pretty as the picture, it came out really sort of brown and not at all appealing looking but the flavor more than made up for the taste. Next time I make this I really need to plan ahead better so I can do everything in the right order and don't have to make other components wait. I did leave out the salami and just used prosciutto as I don't like salami. Plus I didn't feel it needed all that extra fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Only reason I give it 4 stars is that you need a lot of sauce to get the full flavor, otherwise it's a little subtle. I like sauce so I loved it. My family isn't big on sauce so they thought it was good but maybe not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I've made a lower calorie version of this which we loved...though I tried this original one first and froze a sample of the sauce to test against the low-calorie version. There was plenty of sauce and the calories are almost cut in half. Original ingredient on left: substitution follows Butter: 3 tbspn olive oil (did not add extra tspn butter at end) Chicken: 6 chicken breasts (1 bag frozen Tyson chicken breasts) Sherry: 1 oz apple cider vinegar + 3 oz water and 1/2 tspn vanilla extract Mushrooms: 1 cup sliced Onion: 1 large chopped Marinara: 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes Prosciutto and Hard Salami: 3 oz instead of 4 Half & Half: Land O Lakes Fat Free half and half Black Pepper: 1 tspn -- no extra salt I browned the chicken in the oil, then removed from skillet. Cooked onions and mushrooms...added rest of sauce ingredients. Cooked abt 15 minutes. Added chicken, simmered till reduced to desired consistency. Refrigerated overnight to allow flavors to marry. We couldn't tell a great deal of difference between the two. I served with steamed spaghetti squash and grilled asparagus. YUMMY both ways. Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Just finished dinner and my hubby is still complimenting this dish! I might use low salt chicken broth next time, but otherwise it's a definite keeper! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I loved this, and so did my dad whose name happens to be David! :) I cooked the chicken first and then added the vegetables like another reviewer suggested, and I sort of eyeballed it with the salami and prosciutto. I attempted to pound out our extremely thick chicken breasts but it still took a little longer than I thought for them to cook all the way through. But that's ok. :) I got lazy and didn't add the parsley or butter at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Farmington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was a tasty weeknight dinner. Didn't take too long to make and the sauce was delicious. With the right sides and some wine it could also be a romantic Italian weekend dinner as well. The only thing I added was a little bit of roux to thicken the sauce. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was fantastic! I doubled the sauce and did the chicken with thin sliced chicken breasts dipped in egg and flour mixed with Italian bread crumbs. I fried the chicken first in olive oil, removed and then made the sauce. Added chicken right before serving. Served over angel hair. It was fantastic. I used 3 lbs thin sliced chicken breasts, and double the sauce...1 jar sauce, and 1 cup plus ff half and half ( instead of cream). It was superb! I have a lot left over for another meal of 4. ( served 4). Thanks for such a GREAT recipe! Highly recommend you try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
LOVE this Chicken recipe. So tasty. I did however cut the amount of salami and proscuitto in half on accident and am glad I did. It was a salty dish which I really love and is great without the full amount of meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States