Chicken Curry V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
My family thinks this was the best curry we've had yet! I didn't have all the whole spices, so I substituted ground spices in many cases, and I had no tamarind. I also used a whole can of light coconut milk and served over red rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I don`t eat chicken but my family say in whole this dish is very good. But I have two remarks. At first, it would be desirable, that sauce was a little bit hotter. At second, the sauce is too liquid. I used 1/2 cups coconut milk and 1 incomplete cup water and the sauce all the same was too liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was great & easy as. I did make some changes using what I did have though. Left out Anise pod, tamarind & curry leaves as don't have. Used regular brown onion instead of shallots. Used garlic & ginger out of jars cos that's what I did have. Only used 1 tblspn curry paste to experiment with flavour. Depends on your paste I expect but 4 would have been unbearable. So test it first. Didn't use as much water but did add some cornstarch to thicken. It was really good though & will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Amazing. I liked it much better than Indian curry, which uses yogurt instead of the coconut milk. Many of the ingredients were difficult to find (Anise pods and Tamarind Juice...I went to 3 different grocery stores!!). I used anise seeds instead and left out the Tamarind Juice, but it still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Great curry - I kept the sauce thick and added fresh mango
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
An absolutely AMAZING dish! I do recommend that you use less water if you desire a thicker sauce. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
The two cups of water makes the sauce watery. Use much less if you want a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This is the authentic way to make Malaysian chicken curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States