Chicken Curry II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I am a REAL Indian and know what chicken curry is supposed to taste like and this is definately not it. This is a western adaptation. If you want REAL curry chicken have an Indian person make it for you or teach you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Okay, at first, I was annoyed at the review that criticized this recipe for not being authentic. It didn't claim to be, and who says it has to be... BUT, it turns out I tend to agree. It's all garam masala and curry, and as we ate this, I realized that cinnamon and other typical Indian ingredients were missing. HOWEVER, this is good and fast, especially if you use cubed chicken breast and add the broth/soup/curry mixture all together as I did. My fiance liked it, as did I, but it just didn't satisfy my curry craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This is a great recipe. The curry tasted better than some that I have had in restaurants. I addded a sliced, fresh jalapeno with the onions to add a little extra heat. Also, make sure that you make small cubes with the potato to ensure that they cook all the way through in a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Easy to make and excellent curry. I used skinless, boneless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces instead of whole chicken. I also added some baby carrots and frozen peas with the potato. I've made this a number of times and varied the quantity of curry powder so I can say that 3 tbsp = mild; 4 tbsp = medium and 5 tbsp gives you a hot curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Easiest curry recipe I've seen. I didn't find any garam masala but it tasted great anyhow. I also cut the onion down to just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I made this curry two days ago. The first day it was just ok. But we had the leftover curry tonight and it was super! Maybe the flavors need a few days to blend. Next time I will make it the day before we plan to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
This was an excellent dish and even passed the "picky boyfriend test" with flying colors. I guess the spicyness depends on the kind of curry used - I bought mine at an Indian grocery store and 3 tbs was more than enough! But I did use more Marsala, enough to generously cover the chicken. Again, it came out delicious. Everyone was impressed, although it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
quite nice, very simple to make. needs a little more heat/ hot pepper I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I was worried about making this recipe bec of all the mixed reviews but mine came out great. I did make it alittle different but I used all the ingredients so didnt change it too much.:) I marinated diced chicken breasts with the marsala and minced garlic for a few hours. Then I browned it, set aside. I sauuted onion and carrots (after cutting up in the food processor) than added potatoes cubed small. Added soup, broth, curry a pinch of cayenne!. Covered and let potatoes cook for 15 mins. Threw chicken in and raisins and let it cook for 10 mins more. Had with jasmine rice. This was very Good and I think the cayenne gave it what it needed. Yum! I also dont think its far to rate a recipe Just to say it not authentic thats's not what this site is about:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Loved this recipe. I used chicken thighs and increased the garam masala to 2.5 tbsp and used 2 cloves of fresh, chopped garlic instead of powder. Because we like it hot, I used very hot curry powder. Followed instructions on recipe as given. We skipped the raisins because we aren't fans. Loved this recipe - was delish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States