Chicken Costa Brava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
WOW. This recipe totally surprised me. So different and so delicious! I used extra pineapple and extra salsa. I doubled the spices like other users suggested. Next time I will probably use 1 1/2 times what the recipe calls for instead of double. This is now one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Absolutely delicious! It smelled amazing while it was cooking, and was very flavorful as well. :) Huge hit with my fiance as well-will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Absolutely fabulous! I took the other reviewers' suggestions and increased the amount of cumin, cinnomon, and salsa. I also added a little smoked paprika, chipotle chili powder, dash of nutmeg, and jalepeno-stuffed green olives for a more authentic flavor. I was very happily surprised by the different flavors in every bite. Will make again frequently. Good job! Delicious ethnic food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I enjoyed this, very different in a good way. We ate it over whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Excellent!!! Full of flavor. As others said, every bite is different. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I scaled this recipe in half for just two of us; even so, we'll still have leftovers. I also cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces as others advised. Added about 1/4tsp cayenne pepper, but I would definitely double the cumin-cinnamon seasoning if I were to make this again. Served over steamed brown basmati rice. Thanks for sharing, ChristyJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Sweet and spicy! Fantastic flavor combination; even the BF who usually forgoes spicy foods said this was a winner. Earlier suggestions to cut chicken into bite-sized pieces seem to be a good idea, as we liked this over rice and it would've made it a little neater to eat. All in all a delicious meal. Thanks for this submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was very tasty, but I must admit that I mostly used a different recipe for Chicken Costa Brava that I found in an old cookbook. All of the ingredients are the same, but some of the quantities are different: 2 whole chicken breasts instead of 5, 8 oz of tomatoes instead of 14.5, 1 cup of salsa instead of 1/2 cup, 2 tsp of cornstarch instead of 2 tbsp, and a mixture of black and green olives instead of 2 cups of black. I used a medium-heat salsa, and whole tomatoes that I crushed before adding. I wonder if maybe it was these small differences that kept mine from being "bland," as some people are complaining? Anyway, the fella liked it - the pineapple bits were particularly spicy and tangy and delicious - so next time I'll make it the Allrecipes way and update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was fantastic! I also added extra spices as well as some course ground black pepper. I wish I had added more olives and pineapple as I did not have as much on hand as the recipe called for. I served it over a Spanish rice/orzo blend. I will make this again no doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raelee's recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I love this recipe i added way more spices and cayenne and some chipolte chilli pepper seasoning but other than that it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnuthikers

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States