Chicken Costa Brava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by bubblegumaddikt
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very tasty! I couldn't stop taking little tasters! I agree with other reviewers. Each forkful does have its own flavor. What I did differently: I like cinnamon so I put a super heaping teaspoonful of that. Added CAYENNE and CURRY. I don't know if the spices really stuck to the chicken so I'm thinking it may have been better had I added those before the chicken was fully browned. Didn't have olives, so I used CAPERS. Used 1/4 c SIRACHA and 1/4 c SALSA. Was pretty spicy so I did add the MANDARIN ORANGES and a little of the juice. Used red, orange, and yellow mini peppers. I think I might have used like 3 TEASPOONS OF CORNSTARCH. It was all good. I'll make it again for sure and next time I'll use the olives. Sadly...I burned the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spanishize122
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Just made this and it was delicious! Even my husband, who usually hates hot dishes with fruits, ate every bite. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned, so I added a little fresh orange juice instead of the pineapple water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishize122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was good! I enjoyed the mix of pineapple and tomatoes - something I wouldn't have thought of! I wonder how it would be with green olives instead of black?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was not bad; but, as my family said, "Not bad, but it wouldn't hurt my feelings if you never made it again." This usually means not their favorite flavor. I personally agree with one reviewer who said every bite yields a different taste. Some of these bites are much better than others, and my family is really used to the same flavor in every bite, making them want one more bite. This is one dish I wouldn't even change ... too many flavors to figure out how to get only one taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
WOW.....this was delicious. I followed the recipe to the tee except for two little things. I used Pork cutlets instead of chicken and I used a little Bad Byrons Butt Rubb seasoning to the cinnamon and cumin. My husband couldn't stop eating it until the entire pan was gone. All the flavors go well together and I can't wait to try it with chicken. I might add a little cayenne next time too...spicey never hurt anyone. Great recipe, Christy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Loved it, loved it! Took others advice and did black and green olives, yum! Served this with Jasmine rice; totally awesome flavors,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Have made this more than once now and it is loved by all that try it out... I now have to make extra in order to have some for take home for the guest and family..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne
Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Amazing! 'm not usually a big fan of sweet and spicy, but this dish won me over! I did add Mandarin oranges as suggested by another reviewer and cut the amount of pineapple and onion by about 1/3. Also, instead of using salsa I used Raspberry Chipotle sauce to keep the balance between the flavors. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Wonderful only minor changes i used Italian style stewed tomatoes and I made 3 serving instead of 10. Served it with white rice tried it over the rice and then tossed the rice into the pan to try for 2nds and tossing it was better but its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was an excellent blend of flavors. No one in the house likes olives, so we subbed in some marinated artichoke hearts because we had some to get rid of, and wanted to make sure we kept the saltiness flavor at least somewhat present. I also used two tsp of cumin, cinnamon, and smoked sweet paprika. Looking back, for using only 3 breasts, that much spice sounds a bit crazy but it made the sauce absolutely amazing. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States