Chicken Costa Brava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made this for the second time today. The first time I made it, I didn't notice that it says "salt to taste" at the bottom! Nothing I did fixed it, but I was intrigued so tried it again. I have to laugh at myself, because I did mess up again! For some reason, I misread when I was supposed to use the cumin and cinnamon. Anyway, this is what I did: I only used 3 pretty large boneless chicken breasts (we don't like dark meat and there are only 3 adults and 1 toddler); I mixed 2 teaspoons each cumin and cinnamon and some salt, mixed the chicken with that (that was the mess up!), I had also cut the chicken into chunks. I also browned it in olive oil; seems like in Spain, olive oil would normally be used (that's my thinking), sprinkled an additional teaspoon each of cumin & cinnamon, then stirred in the onion, but used 2, and tons of garlic minced. Added the reserved pineapple juice, salsa (used 3/4 cup), tomatoes and olives. I tasted before adding the cornstarch and added some black pepper and cayenne, then tasted. Then I added the pineapple (salted) and the red pepper strips. Served over rice cooked in chicken broth with a salad. Delish! However, you notice I had to use much more seasoning and my daughter wasn't crazy for it. That's why I'm giving it a 4, since I had to "doctor" it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolinaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
we loved this; although i did tweak (as i usually do) i did not stray far from the original. i added 1/2 tsp indian chili powder, 1 tsp smoked paprika and increased the cumin to 2 tsp. i used half green/half black on the olives. i also used bone in legs/thighs. this make a LOT of sauce. i am wondering if i can freeze the leftover sauce for another time. thanks so much for the post christyj!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This was wonderful! I made this on Sunday evening so my husband and I could eat the leftovers the rest of the week as quick, healthy meals. This goes fantastic with rice. I followed the recipe exactly. (Side note - I'm really not much of a cook, so I was happy it was easy, and my husband was really happy it turned out so well!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bubblegumaddikt
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very tasty! I couldn't stop taking little tasters! I agree with other reviewers. Each forkful does have its own flavor. What I did differently: I like cinnamon so I put a super heaping teaspoonful of that. Added CAYENNE and CURRY. I don't know if the spices really stuck to the chicken so I'm thinking it may have been better had I added those before the chicken was fully browned. Didn't have olives, so I used CAPERS. Used 1/4 c SIRACHA and 1/4 c SALSA. Was pretty spicy so I did add the MANDARIN ORANGES and a little of the juice. Used red, orange, and yellow mini peppers. I think I might have used like 3 TEASPOONS OF CORNSTARCH. It was all good. I'll make it again for sure and next time I'll use the olives. Sadly...I burned the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spanishize122
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Just made this and it was delicious! Even my husband, who usually hates hot dishes with fruits, ate every bite. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned, so I added a little fresh orange juice instead of the pineapple water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishize122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was good! I enjoyed the mix of pineapple and tomatoes - something I wouldn't have thought of! I wonder how it would be with green olives instead of black?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was not bad; but, as my family said, "Not bad, but it wouldn't hurt my feelings if you never made it again." This usually means not their favorite flavor. I personally agree with one reviewer who said every bite yields a different taste. Some of these bites are much better than others, and my family is really used to the same flavor in every bite, making them want one more bite. This is one dish I wouldn't even change ... too many flavors to figure out how to get only one taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
WOW.....this was delicious. I followed the recipe to the tee except for two little things. I used Pork cutlets instead of chicken and I used a little Bad Byrons Butt Rubb seasoning to the cinnamon and cumin. My husband couldn't stop eating it until the entire pan was gone. All the flavors go well together and I can't wait to try it with chicken. I might add a little cayenne next time too...spicey never hurt anyone. Great recipe, Christy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Loved it, loved it! Took others advice and did black and green olives, yum! Served this with Jasmine rice; totally awesome flavors,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Have made this more than once now and it is loved by all that try it out... I now have to make extra in order to have some for take home for the guest and family..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne
Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States