Chicken Corn Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by aussomemomof1
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I made this today and we loved it! I didn't have a whole chicken so I used 2 chicken breasts and 2 thighs. Came out to just under 4 lbs. I also did a quart of low sodium chicken stock and 3 quarts of water. Made extra rivals too. Added parsley at the end for some color. Very yummy and even my neighbors were begging for some! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I live in Snyder county pa and we use this recipe all the time. Another thing you could possibly add to it that I have an my family loves is egg noodles like the loose spiral noodles. Add them about 15 minutes before you serve the food taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Fabulous soup! I followed other posts to decrease the cooking time.....I used Progresso no salt chicken broth and a rotisserie chicken, and I also added a can of creamed corn. It was outstanding. Better than my mother-in-law made, and she lived in Lancaster County.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I can't think of a better Summer time recipe then chicken corn soup...I used fresh local corn, and I also add in some chopped hard boiled eggs...tip from my Mother-inlaw who is Pennsylvania Dutch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This soup is wonderful comfort food! I wanted to get it on the table a little faster for Sunday dinner, so I used chicken stock and skinless, boneless chicken thighs instead of whole chicken and water. I simmered the thighs and chopped onion in the broth for about 20 minutes. I also used mini pasta instead of making the rivals, and I added a dash of nutmeg at the last minute. It was delicious, and my kids and I just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My Husband is from PA, where this soup is pretty much a regular in most homes and he's talked about it for years now! We've lived in NC since we've been married so he hasn't had his "chicken corn soup fix!" I found this recipe recently and it seemed easy enough so I gave it a try. I loooved it and my Husband had 3 bowls in one setting and said it tasted exactly how he remembered it! I followed the driections pretty much the way they are but I cut down on the cooking time by using chicken broth in place of water and using a rotisserie chicken (shredded). It was quick and easy. I loved the rivels and I think next time I will put more in. I'm also gonna take the advice of another reviewer and try adding in a can of cream corn to the mixture next time - although it is good without it!. This soup was very deilicious and I will most definitley be making it for years to come!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarineWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Instead of making the flour crums I add pasta noodles and used one egg 1 tbs flour and little milk to add to make consistancy. and at the end I add one egg to make it look like the asian soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daria

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I'm from Lancaster County and grew up eating chicken corn soup! This is a good recipe for it. Some people add carrots and some don't like the hard boiled eggs, but NEVER potatoes to true chicken corn soup! For the rivels, the "dough" should really be called batter. There is no mystery and almost no way to mess up. The dough should resemble a thick pancake batter. How big they are in your soup depends on how large a dough "plop" you use. They do not resemble "balls" while making them because the dough is too sticky to make a ball shape.They do make little balls when cooked though. But size is up to you. I've had large rivels and small ones. I personally like them about the size of a small marble when cooked. The easiest way I have found to get the rivels into the pot (because the dough/batter is sticky) is to first scoop up a level (or just a bit rounded) teaspoonful of the batter. Use your index finger, against the edge of the spoon to push and cut off a bit of dough (whatever size you like) and it should stick to the fingerprint side of your index finger. Use the back of the spoon to then push the dough from your finger into the pot. (yes, there is still more dough on the spoon, but it won't fall off because it is sticky.) Keep pushing pieces of dough from the spoon. (about 6-8 rivels from one spoon of batter/dough) If it gets stuck to the back of the spoon, touch the piece of dough to the hot soup. Once I can get in rhythm I can do all the rivels in about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This soup was great. It is just like what I remember from years ago. I used chicken broth in place of the water and I used egg noodles intead of rivels. I omitted the hard boiled egg; my husband doesn't like his chicken corn soup with egg. Instead of frozen corn, I used canned corn also. This recipe turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I had never heard of this. I thought it tasted like a chicken and dumplings type of soup- only with tiny dumplings. My 3 toddlers ate a whole bowl each! As always, I think soups taste better on the second day. I added more corn. The boiled eggs do give it a little something extra, I may add 3 next time! Would someone please post a pic of these "rivels" so that I can see what I am supposed to be making?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States