Chicken Corn Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This soup is an excellent old fashioned rivel soup and I can't imagine anyone not giving it 5 stars. It takes some time to make but is well worth it. Thanks for a wonderful addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Really good and didn't require a lot of ingredients. I used boneless skinless chicken breast and a couple of legs. I also substituted chicken broth for half of the water, and added a cup of cubed potatoes. Everyone really liked it. Could double the recipe for the rivels. We liked those a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I'd never heard of rivals, and had to try them! So I made a quicker, easier version of this recipe because I didn't have a whole chicken. Started with a mirepoix [1 onion, 2 ribs celery, 1 carrot] sauted in 2 T. margarine for flavor and color. Added 1 large boneless skinless diced chicken breast, 1 can of corn with liquid, and 4 cups of water. Then used 4 teaspoons of chicken soup base [Orrington Farms brand is excellent, NAYY]. Also added a little dry Thyme. Then for the rivals, I used half whole wheat flour to make them healthier and added 1/2 teaspoon salt for flavor. My crumbles of dough were around pea size. I didn't use the hard cooked eggs. This soup was great...I love the rivals! I made a 3 quart pan full, and only ate one little bowl because it's very filling. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was my 1st time making corn soup. I added parsley to it and a few chicken cubes. The rivels were runny, so I had to add a lot more flour. Other than that, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thomasville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I never use the hard boiled eggs in this recipe. I also make my rivels slightly different: 1 1/3 c. flour, 1/2 tsp. salt(cannot omit), 2 tsp. baking powder, 1 egg, and 1/2 c. milk. Otherwise, love the recipe, just like Mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gordon S. Hampton
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I added parsley to suit myself and instead of water I substituted Swansons Chicken Broth... this has got to be some of the best soup I ever tasted. I used frozen yellow & white baby corn 16 oz. bags and I was told afterward that an additional can of cream corn may have brought the flavor of the corn out better. I made enough for a church "Soup-er Bowl", 36 servings and used 14 lbs of chicken, 48 cups of chicken broth and 3 lbs of corn. And plenty of rivels! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gordon S. Hampton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
In our family, this rates as "soul food". My Grandma didn't add hard-boiled eggs and when my Mom told me how to make rivels she didn't mention milk--just the egg and flour...this time I did use milk and needed a lot more flour...which meant more rivels, which is fine with me! I also add chopped carrots. This is the best chicken soup there is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Thank you so much for this recipe! It's great to get old favorite recipes from back home in Pa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vicksburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Delicious! My mom's been making this soup since I was little, and I tried it myself after finding this recipe. I did things a little different since I had a chicken carcus leftover with lots of chicken on it, so I boiled that for an hour and then picked the chicken off, (had to add some chicken broth though), and then made the soup, also added carrots and parsely. Rivvels are wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
this recipe turned out very well. we will defintely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States