Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
husband liked it a lot(after eating cambell's version all these years) the ingriedients were easy to come buy(used up all that corn in the freezer!) and i cooked 3 huge chicken legs in the crock pot filled with water all day and used the broth from that. Kept everything else the same, turned out great! Husband liked it better when it thickened up the second day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
What a great recipe. This is a hearty chowder is full of fresh vegtables. Is a light bodied chowder. Will make this as a standard meal in cold months to come. A very healthy choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was a really tasty chowder! Even my daughter who is not a corn eater liked it very much! It was so yummy and it fed us (3) for days when it was coooold...excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I added mashed potato flakes to thicken it up a bit and used fat free half & half. Canned corn also works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHARMABUMX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY AWESOME! THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS ADDING A LITTLE MORE CREAM. THE TASTE WAS FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bechtelsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was very good, although I did alter the recipe a bit to make it healthier. I used 3 cups skim milk and 2 cups of chicken broth, then added my potatoes, corn (a mixture of sweet corn and regular corn), and spices. I sauteed the onion with cut up chicken breasts, then added that to the soup. I also added several dashes of thyme, oregano, and onion powder. If you let this soup simmer for about an hour, the potatoes become mealy and thicken the soup tremendously without having to use heavy cream as the thickener. I felt that it needed quite a bit of pepper, which was nicely offset by the sweet corn. My whole family enjoyed this chowder and I'll gladly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Love this soup! While my potatoes are cooking I sometimes add the rind of a parmesan for extra flavor. Oncce I realized I didn't have heavy cream and it was just as tasty with skim milk and a cup of instant potatoes to thicken it. This is also a great way to use leftover rotisserie or baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelRoma
Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I absolutely loved this. I used chicken breasts instead of a carcass, boiled in broth and water for 2 hours. I also added some sliced carrot for color. Very easy to make. Great fall dish, thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Loved it!!!! All of us gave it rave reviews! Mashed up some of the potato and added back to thicken. Didn't have chicken carcass so boiled some breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I omitted the shallots and added more bouillon. Turned out perfect. My Husband took a big container to work the next day and shared it with some friends, they all loved it also. Great recipe and a hearty filling soup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States