Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I changed it a bit but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MenuVariety

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
We used left over fried chicken (skin removed and shredded), 2-10.5 oz cans of Campbells chicken broth, 2 soup cans filled with skim milk, 1 onion diced, 1 bay leaf, 2T parsley, 12 oz bag frozen corn, 1tsp chicken bouillon, 6 small red potatoes diced, 1tsp garlic powder and salt and pepper on the table. We mashed some of the potatoes to thicken. Made this way is lower in fat and a healthy alternative and it also tastes great. Next time, we might add carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I have altered this recipe because I don't use bouillon due to the chemicals. I have made the chowder with the whole chicken as described and with cut up chicken breasts and organic boxed chicken broth. If I don't have cream, I just use enough milk to whiten. My biggest improvement on the recipe is to use fresh corn cut off the cob. You will not believe the difference! No matter how I make chicken corn chowder, this recipe is a great starting place and my family always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was great, I followed the the recipe as well as I could, but used items on hand. I made a gigantic stock pot full of this chowder. I used green peppers instead of shallots (as I had none). I added a cup or two of potato flakes and 2 cups of skim milk instead of cream. Tossed in some extra corn and potatoes, as I made a huge pot. I also added two cans of chicken stock to fill the pot to the top. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This looks great. I'm going to really modify it b/c I'm craving it NOW and don't have all the stuff. We'll see how it turns out. I'm going to use canned skillet corn, frozen chix breasts, sweet potatoes, and adding some green beans to the broth. I'll puree the veggies so they'll "hide" from my three year old twins. :) Wish I had carrots but they'd make the soup turn orange. Looking forward to trying it. WEll, I just tried it. MY version which is so unlike yours was not good. I'm only posting so people will STICK to the versions prior to mine :) I WISH I'd stuck to your attractive and tasty recipe. Canned corn and frozen green beans...yuck!!!! NOT in this soup. Learn from my mistakes. I'm rating high so the recipe itself doesn't get a bad rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was excellent! I left out the shallots, because the onion was so strong, I was afraid to add anything more along that line, and that turned out to be a good decision. I used about 3 tablespoons of dehydrated potato flakes to thicken the chowder a little (which I keep on hand for this very purpose), because I thought it was a bit too thin. I threw in a couple of whole garlic cloves with the chicken, and added a tiny bit of celery salt to the soup at the end. Easy, tasty comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I used a leftover rotiserie chicken and added mushrooms. To compensate for the lesser amount of chicken I made a 4 serving version and heavily reduced the chicken broth to concentrate the flavor. My biggest fan when I hit and biggest critic when I miss is my wife, and as she so eloquently put it when she tried the first spoonfull: "Wow..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I made this for my family and they were going back for seconds, the only thing I did differently was add a little garlic powder. I can't help myself when it comes to garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I liked this soup although it was a little bland. Next time I think I will add some additional spices to it and some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Excellent soup! I added more cream as the amount in the recipe didn't make it creamy enough. Great flavour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States