Chicken Cordon Bleu II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pink-kitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was my first time making this and it was Awesome.. Delicious.. I did make some adjustments. I used sandwich sliced ham ( black forest ham), I used chicken broth instead of wine and I baked the chicken after browning it for about 10 minutes and adding the chicken broth. I added 2tsp of the broth to the cornstarch and cream dressing. My family couldn't stop talking about it. Ate it with plain cooked rice and sauteed garlic asparagus. Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This is a new family favorite! The only thing I do differently is that after rolling the ham and cheese into the chicken, I try to make sure the cheese is the last layer touching chicken-to-chicken when I'm done rolling. Then I wrap it in aluminum foil and bake at 400 for about 30-40 minutes depending on the size of the breast. The cheese acting as a glue, together with the baking process, virtually removes the need to toothpick the chicken and work around the toothpicks in the dredging & frying process. After baking, unwrap, carefully "towel off" the chicken, dredge and fry until golden - for about 10-15 minutes. The chicken comes out moist and super delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
When my boyfriend requested I make chicken cordon bleu for him, I very reluctantly agreed as I've never cared for the dish. Oh boy am I glad I gave it a shot! I've now made this dish over a dozen times now and IT.IS.AMAZING! As others have said, you'll want to double the sauce. I use chardonnay for the wine and chicken broth in place of the bouillon granules as I think bouillon makes it a bit too salty. I increased the Swiss to 1.5 slices and blue cheese to the center. Try it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Mulligan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This was a "WOW" recipe!!!! The only change I made was more wine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Used vermouth cooking wine for the white wine. Very tasty! Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is AMAZING. I've made this for years (from the Good House Keeping Illustrated Cookbook). My parents always made it and it was always my choice for my birthday meal growing up. The only change I would make, would be that I pound the chicken to make it spread out and thinner, it's easier to roll the ham and cheese in. Also, in addition to the toothpicks to close it, I tie some cooking twine/string around it to keep the cheese in a little more. But other than that, this is perfect the way it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Lynch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this and it was really awesome! Absolutely 5 stars! I even licked the pan! This recipe rocks! Look for smaller chicken breasts though. Because by the time you pound them into a quarter inch mine were way too big but still so good! Way to go! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Since chicken is sold by the pound, not the # of breasts, I purchased 2.25 pounds. I couldn't find the right poundage in breasts, so I bought thinly-sliced breasts instead. They ended up being smaller and I had a lot more bundles, but I think eaters preferred the smaller size. I ended up having more ham & Swiss per inch of chicken, which was also a good thing. I did have some trouble sealing the bundles, though. Some of them ended up being cups with toothpicks sticking out of the top like a porcupine. Obviously, I wasn't able to sear the top of those bundles, but they cooked just fine. No trouble with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
What great recipe followed the reviews and made changes .Brown meat in butter and bake in oven for 25 min .The sauce was as good as all the reviews . If you want to impress your guests this the one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,896) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

See how to turn a French classic into a simple sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States