Chicken Cordon Bleu I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Use the sauce recommended by others
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I altered this recipe according to others' sugguestions. I only had sandwich meat ham, so that's what I used and it tasted really good. I also didn't have swiss cheese, so I used pepperjack, and that turned out delicious, as well! After rollin up each serving, I washed them in egg wash and dipped them in bread crumbs and added a small pat of butter to the tops before baking. I made the cream sauce (1 can cream of chicken, 1/2 cup cream cheese, 1 tbsp lemon juice), but I personally don't think it was necessary...personal choice entire! Great recipe...my husband said he'd definitely eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wessington, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wolsey, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Fantastic dish you'd never suspect how quick & easy it is to put together - my family loved it - even my two frustratingly picky kids liked it once I finally got them to take a bite (anything that is not mac-n-cheese is a battle). I followed the updates from LLPUTNEY from Oct 3, 2003 exactly n the sauce was awesome. Good with risotto as a side along with a veggie. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charliebuelow

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was really good. First I used a food hammer to make the chicken flat. Then I dipped it in egg wash and put it on a plate that I put the bread crumbs on. I put the ham pieces (I used ham strips) and I use mozzarella, not Swiss cheese. I put fresh black pepper and sea salt on it. I rolled it up and use toothpicks to close it.I put about 1/4 teaspoon of unsalted butter on the top of each chicken breast.. I put it in the oven and then made the sauce with a can of cream of mushroom, 1/2 cup of sour cream and about a tablespoon of lemon pepper seasoning (I did not have any lemon juice at home). I cooked it on the stove until it bubbled and took it off. I served it with mash and steamed green peas. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
So easy to make! I added some pepper, cayene, garlic powder, montreal steak spice & a squirt of honey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoraBora

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
i love this i want more:o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
We served this for a little dinner party and everyone was super happy. We served it with slow roasted vegetables and the presentation was so pleasing. I asked the deli for their saltiest ham in thick slices, and for the cheese to be in super thick slices too... nom nom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
excellent and very easy to make. i did use the sauce another review suggested (can of cream of chicken, 1/2 cup of sour cream, 1 tbsp lemon juice) and that added the perfect finishing touch. if you have a publix grocery store, i used their black forest ham, which is my favorite sliced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
The family is raving. They loved the dish. I did change a few things and that is why I gave it the 4 star rating. I went with some of the other reviews and dipped the roll in egg before the breadcrumbs. I also added a pad of butter on top of each roll. Then I also added a cream sauce. What I did a little differently was that I doubled the cheese and ham, didn't put any cheese on top, seasoned the chicken after rolling with sea salt and lemon pepper. It turned out beautifully and there isn't any left, which is always a good sign. Served with garlic mashed potatoes, green beans, and stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rochelle_fetters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: St. Ignatius, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe was great! I went with some of the suggestions that I had found in here and it turned out amazing!! Here's what I did: I pretty much stuck to the original recipe although I made a few additions. I put the breadcrumbs on a large dinner plate, added the pepper, and used a dash of garlic salt instead. I tried to go lite on the garlic salt after reading reviews that the ham would add quite a bit to the saltiness of the dish. I, too, dipped the chicken in an eggwash before breading the chicken, and breaded both sides. Then, because I didn't have toothpicks, I wrapped the chicken in large thick-cut bacon and flattened it a little in my 9"x13". I also took the suggestion to make the sauce using a cream of ____ (I've seen several different suggestions i.e. chicken, celery, mushroom, whatever...). I used cream of mushroom because I like it, and it's what I had offhand. I mixed it with what sour cream I had had left - approximately 4oz. I didn't have lemon juice, so I left it out. I covered the chicken with the sauce and baked it on 385F for 35 minutes, took it out and added a slice of provolone and swiss cheese to the top, and placed it back in the oven for another 7 minutes. This dish turned out AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

See how to turn a French classic into a simple sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States