Chicken Cordon Bleu I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I read the reviews and took the suggestion of some others. First of all, I dipped the chicken in egg wash, then laid the slices of ham and cheese on top. I got a plate and sprinkled breadcrumbs and placed the chicken on it and rolled it from there. I also added a pat of butter on top of each. It came out beautifully and you must use the sauce (which is 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1 tbsp of lemon juice). I put a bed of white rice on the plates, put the chicken cordon blue on top of the rice covered with the cream sauce. A good side dish is buttered rolls, mmm-mhmm! All I can say was that it was such a beautiful presentation and absolutely heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2962 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I can't believe this awesome recipe! My boyfriend cannot stop talking about it. I told him I was making it for dinner, and he came home early from work. Then, when he tasted it......he moaned and groaned through the entire meal. He made a comment between each and every bite. He has thanked me over and over for making this for him. I have to say, this recipe made me 'Queen for a Day.' I also dipped the chicken in egg before sprinkling the bread crumbs, and I, too, added a small pat of butter on top of each of the breasts. I will definetely be making this, at least once a month. I used the 'potatoe rounds' recipe from this site, for the side dish. This entire meal turned out soooooooo good. You are a goddess, Kiersten! Thank you so much. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
895 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Fantastic. My variation includes: add some paprika to the breading, and bread the whole chicken roll, not just the top. I also like to cook my chicken hotter and faster to keep it juicy - 20-25 minutes at 400. Final suggestion: add the honey-mustard sauce from this site's Aussie Chicken recipe (inside the roll and/or as a dipping sauce). It really complements this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
700 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This recipe was absolutley amazing and very easy. I did follow some of the suggestions from previous raters(Mushroom soup sauce:1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1/2 cup sour cream & 1 tbsp of lemon juice-served on top when finished; coated chicken in egg before adding bread crumbs; cooked at 400 for 25 min and I also added a small pat of butter to each breast before cooking). I would also suggest not to use sandwich ham. Anyway, my boyfriend wants to marry me after tasting this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Very good! I can NEVER get breasts thin enough to roll so I cut breasts in half almost all the way through and laid a piece of Healthy Choice Ham and provolone in the cut; sprinkled Italian breadcrumbs on bottom of dish; laid chicken on top and then sprinkled more bread crumbs on chicken. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
Great recipe to make ahead and freeze too! I dip the rolled up chicken in melted butter before rolling in bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
Wow! These were looked and tasted wonderful and they were super simple to make. I bought big breasts and pounded them. They were quite easy to roll. I dipped them in egg first and then rolled them in the bread crumbs. I used the other reviewers suggestions and used provolone instead of swiss (just my preference), put a pat of butter on top of each and baked for 25 minutes at 400 degrees. I put a half slice of cheese on top and put it back in for 5 minutes. I also made the sauce recipe (1 can of cream of celery soup, 1/2 cup of sour cream) and spooned it on top. Just lovely - thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
A hit in my family of 5, including a 4 yr old, the pickiest of all...The chicken cooked for 50 minutes..adding to its crispiness..and I didn't use toothpicks to secure them, making them easier to eat. I used sliced cooked ham and processed swiss cheese to cut costs and found it to be a bit salty. I will try this again and again, however, I will cut down the amount of salt. It was totally simple to prepare! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This recipe is incredible! It's so easy and sure to please any crowd. Provolone makes a great substitution for those who dislike swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Wonderful. I made this for a dinner party and there were absolutely no negative comments. My family loved it. I followed the directions exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

See how to turn a French classic into a simple sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States