Chicken Cordon Bleu I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
excellent and very easy to make. i did use the sauce another review suggested (can of cream of chicken, 1/2 cup of sour cream, 1 tbsp lemon juice) and that added the perfect finishing touch. if you have a publix grocery store, i used their black forest ham, which is my favorite sliced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
The family is raving. They loved the dish. I did change a few things and that is why I gave it the 4 star rating. I went with some of the other reviews and dipped the roll in egg before the breadcrumbs. I also added a pad of butter on top of each roll. Then I also added a cream sauce. What I did a little differently was that I doubled the cheese and ham, didn't put any cheese on top, seasoned the chicken after rolling with sea salt and lemon pepper. It turned out beautifully and there isn't any left, which is always a good sign. Served with garlic mashed potatoes, green beans, and stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rochelle_fetters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: St. Ignatius, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe was great! I went with some of the suggestions that I had found in here and it turned out amazing!! Here's what I did: I pretty much stuck to the original recipe although I made a few additions. I put the breadcrumbs on a large dinner plate, added the pepper, and used a dash of garlic salt instead. I tried to go lite on the garlic salt after reading reviews that the ham would add quite a bit to the saltiness of the dish. I, too, dipped the chicken in an eggwash before breading the chicken, and breaded both sides. Then, because I didn't have toothpicks, I wrapped the chicken in large thick-cut bacon and flattened it a little in my 9"x13". I also took the suggestion to make the sauce using a cream of ____ (I've seen several different suggestions i.e. chicken, celery, mushroom, whatever...). I used cream of mushroom because I like it, and it's what I had offhand. I mixed it with what sour cream I had had left - approximately 4oz. I didn't have lemon juice, so I left it out. I covered the chicken with the sauce and baked it on 385F for 35 minutes, took it out and added a slice of provolone and swiss cheese to the top, and placed it back in the oven for another 7 minutes. This dish turned out AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Followed recipe exactly & turned out GREAT!! May bread entire breast & may cover w/a cream soup & sour cream next time or pat w/butter or all 3 next time. Love reading other reviews for tips! Will definately make again. Super quick to make & super quick to bake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used Shake n Bake instead of the bread crumbs, salt & pepper and it was very moist. Thanks for a quick & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Printed the recipe and handed it my 15 year old. After he pounded the chicken out he added the ham and provolone instead of swiss. Then dredged it in egg and used half italian bread crumbs and half panko. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Pretty good recipe. Instead of Swiss I used Pepper Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I used flour and an eggwash to coat one entire side of each breast before covering in the seasoned bread crumbs. I tried this with the recommended sauce from the most helpful review (cream of chicken soup, sour cream and lemon juice) and didn't care for it. It was too sour and not a nice compliment to the chicken. I've had it before with a mustard sauce so I think I'll try that again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
The family was impressed! Thanks for the great recipe. It will become a monthly addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Greenbush, New York, USA
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I can rarely take a recipe and make it exactly like it reads. I pounded out my chicken breasts, salt and peppered what would be the inside of the roll. Then I added one slice of swiss cheese to each, breaking it in half for each slice so it wouldn't hang off the chicken. Then I folded a slice of ham and placed it on the swiss, again so it was not hanging off. Then I rolled the chicken up secured it with a toothpick and dipped it into an eggwash and then sprinkled a mixture of crumbled crushed Wheat Thin crackers, dried Thyme and olive oil. The Thyme really made this dish. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

See how to turn a French classic into a simple sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States