Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was just ok for me. I probably wouldn't make it again. If you make the chicken like the recipe call for and don't use frozen nuggets, this seemed like it was actually more work than just making Chicken Cordon Bleu. I would rather stick with the real thing. If I could think of one thing that would make it better for me would be to use something other than bread crumbs to coat the chicken. Maybe more of a traditional flour based breading would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used frozen popcorn chicken instead of fresh chicken, and kept everything else the same. Turned out great and made for an easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was very good. I did cheat a little by using frozen chicken nuggets thawed (just to save time). They worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is so delicious and easier than pounding the chicken breasts thin enough to roll. I took the other readers advice and used two cans of soup and about 3/4 cup of milk, just the right amount of sauce, thanks Wanda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My family loved this casserole. I made it exactly per the recipe the first time, but thought cooking the chicken was exhausting, I hate to babysit food. So the next dozen or so times we've had it, I was lazy and took frozen chicken nuggets, heated them in the microwave and cut them in fours. The kids nor I knew the difference. As a single Mom with 5 kids in the house, I'm all about simple and quick. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
The whole family (3 kids under age 7) loved it! I used a ham from Costco and made several batches for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MegSidebottom
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This recipe is kick-butt! The first time I made it, it came out a little runny so I took the advice of some other reviewers and cut the milk to 1/2 c. and used 2 cans of soup instead of one. One other thing I did differently was layer the bottom of my pie dish with green peas-- it came out perfect! My husband does a little dance everytime I ask him if he wants this on the menu for the week :) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegSidebottom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is a pretty decent base recipe. I took suggestions of many -- added cooked rice in pan bottom; thyme, garlic powder, parmesean cheese in chicken coating; added 2 tbsp mayo to egg wash to thicken; plus I used turkey ham instead of regular ham. It still could use a little extra flavor but havent decided what the addition will be. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Love this recipe! I've been making casseroles a lot lately because they're an easy left over to heat up and this is definitely my favorite so far. The only thing I did DIFFERENT was I put a layer of cooked white rice in the bottom of the casserole dish before baking and it took care of the problem that other people were talking about as far as it being too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
So, my one main issue was the bread crumbs. I think it might have been dipping it in the egg/milk wash that made the coating all fall off into the oil in the skillet. I used italian-style bread crumbs but it didn't really matter because it all fell off in the skillet. I did add fresh ground pepper to the soup mixture before I poured it over the casserole ingredients. I added one personal touch--one box StoveTop Savory Herb stuffing over the top, then I drizzled 1/4 cup of butter over the top. This is sitting in my fridge now waiting for my husband to bake it at dinnertime, as I'll be at work. I'll update my review tomorrow, once I hear how they liked it. EDITED: Mixed reviews. They didn't love it but they didn't hate it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States