Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I like chicken cordon bleu and I love comfort food, but this was not at all what I expected. I was really looking forward to it, from all the good reviews, but I will not be making it again. To save some calories, I did not bread and fry the chicken, simply sauted it in a pan with a small amount of olive oil. Kept everything else the same, although I did add a bit of fresh thyme. Overall, this is way too salty and lacking in flavor. In some weird twist, my uber picky 13 year old stepson, who would try to live off plain white rice and dry ham sandwiches if we let him, actually liked this....although he was the only one out of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is by far the best casserole I have ever made. i would recommend not making any adjustments to it. I have fixed this for years and it is a family favorite. great dish with a side of mixed veggies, rolls, and a cheesecake for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I did it differently. I didn't fry anything instead I mixed the ham, chicken and 2 cans of cream of chicken and filled one can with milk so it was thicker. Then I poured that in a pan layered it with swiss cheese and topped with bread crumbs. I don't like frying because of the added calories. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Argyle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
OMG! This was soooo... good! I followed the recipe verbatim other than using lowfat cream of chicken soup. I didn't find breading the chicken to be any trouble at all. This recipe was much easier than trying to wrap it all up inside a chicken breast and tastes just as good! I highly recommend. This recipe has been added to my Recipe Box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Great basis! I was lucky enough to have frozen, pre-breaded chicken breasts that I could fry so that saved a huge step in prep. Instead of 1 cup of milk, I used about 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup white wine, and 1/4 cup sour cream. Yummy, yummy - we'll do this again and thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
absolutely loved it i just made it for the first time last week and im making it again today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I love Chicken Cordon Blue but this recipe didn't do it for me. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURRBERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I also cut back the milk and add another can of soup. Kids like it. Will make again. Prep time took a little longer as I cooked each cut up breast separately for better browning. It also was a bit salty, may have been the extra soup and ham. May need a little tweaking to tone this down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bgoughs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Made exactly as written and was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is good but if you are like me and don't normally fry, you won't like the smell of the chicken frying. Otherwise a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States