Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I doubled this recipe and froze the ham, chicken and swiss. The first batch was really runny, but tasted great. For the second batch, I put some uncooked rice underneath the chicken, ham, cheese and soup mixture. The rice soaked up all of the juices and was super yummy. I think it would work well with stuffing mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I really liked it! I also took the advise of the others and used 2 cans of soup...and I cut the milk down to 1/2 cup. Sprinkled bread crumbs on top as well. Mine was not too runny or mushy-it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
okay, way too much work for a casserole for me and too runny. I did like the flavour... so I've just made this again with many alterations. Instead of all the messy egg/milk wash and breading in all that oil, I just quickly stirfry the chicken plain in an oil sprayed pan,then add the cooked chicken cubes with the cubed ham & cubed cheese in the dish, pour the soup over & I used sour cream like another reviewer said, then topped with a bread crumb topping mix of crushed bread crumbs & a couple of crushed ritz (2 or 3 only) My family liked this but I really liked how easy it was - especially if you've got all the cubes done earlier! thanks for a good base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
My Family and I really enjoyed this recipe. those it was a little involved, It turned out really tasty. I did make a few adjustments. I coated the chicken cubes in Italian bread crumbs. I also added chopped onions when browning the chicken. Instead of the 1 cup of milk, I used 1/2 Cup and a 1/2 cup sour cream. It was not too runny for us. Just a nice sauce. I just mine over white rice. My hubby thought it would be better with little red potatoes so I will try that next time. I will surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I will make this recipe again. It was very very easy. Next time I may add another cream of Chicken and Milk Mixture and cut my chicken into smaller chunks. Though for a tasty and easy recipe, also one for potlucks... I am placing this in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was great! I was always "afraid" of making chicken cordon bleu the regular way, because I have trouble getting the chicken cooked all the way thru without being dry, so this was a good caserole to try for me. My whole family enjoyed it, with only a small portion left for my 9 year old to pack it in his thermos for lunch the next day. This is a keeper in my recipe box thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYJ4KIDOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
so, my husband loved this. i made a couple of changes- i added some flour and parsley to the bread crumbs, i only used 1/2 a cup of milk with the canned soup, i used mozzarella cheese, i precooked the ham a little to remove some moisture, i baked it shallow in a large dish for 1 hour. it was creamy and looked great. it was really pretty for a casserole. i am adding it to my rotation of husband pleasing recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I would really give this a 4 1/2 stars. My family loved it. I have a picky eater and she had seconds. The only reson for the 4 1/2 stars is it was runny. I will add another can of cream of something to thinkin it up. I will make this again and try adding cream of mushroom or something. Thank you for this new addition to my menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
When I made this dish it was too runny. The flavor was good. I'm not sure that I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Pendleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
after reading all the reviews i decided to not switch things but make it more for my family. we are trying to eat healthier now so we did not coat and fry the chicken. we just cooked the chicken in the pan and then cubed it up. because ham is a natura water "holder" i quickly cooked the ham in a pan first to drain most of the water out of it. i used low sodium cream of chicken soup. i put 1/2 cup of milk with the soup instead of 1 cup. i put 1/2 cup cheese in the mix and 1/2 cup on top. then coverd with a small amount of breadcrumbs. the casserole was not runny at all and tasted very good! the only complaint i have it that this recipe says for 8 people. i have a family of 4. my husband and daughter eat quite a bit and this casserole only covered the 4 of us. depending on what you call a serving size, i would double up on the ingredients if you have more than 4 people in your family. thanks to everyone who put in suggestions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States