Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Sloppy? Yes. Delicious? Yes. I did the breaded chicken part. However, I cooked some non-breaded chicken chunks with onion and garlic in a skillet. Added that to the baking dish. Put in 10 oz of swiss plus about 4 oz of Velveeta because I had it on hand. With about 10 minutes left in the bake time I added a layer of raw/dry package stuffing for crunch. Perfect. Getting up for thirds now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I totally cheated on this one. I used 20 breaded chicken tenders and cooked them ahead. While they were cooking I chopped up the ham and cheese. Making sure to cut everything about the same size. I also try and make sure that all the pieces are evenly dispersed cause I don't like big huge chunks of cheese all clumped together. I used a 9 x 13 pan since the size wasn't mentioned. I used half fat-free sour cream and half milk, like others have suggested. I did not have the problem of this being too runny, infact it could have helped to be runny since I served this over bow tie pasta. Would have made for more sauce that way. This barely fed 5 people. No way 8 people would be happy with the portion size. Make sure to use low sodium chicken soup. Super easy to do and throw together, especially with the breaded chicken tenders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
after reading all the reviews i decided to not switch things but make it more for my family. we are trying to eat healthier now so we did not coat and fry the chicken. we just cooked the chicken in the pan and then cubed it up. because ham is a natura water "holder" i quickly cooked the ham in a pan first to drain most of the water out of it. i used low sodium cream of chicken soup. i put 1/2 cup of milk with the soup instead of 1 cup. i put 1/2 cup cheese in the mix and 1/2 cup on top. then coverd with a small amount of breadcrumbs. the casserole was not runny at all and tasted very good! the only complaint i have it that this recipe says for 8 people. i have a family of 4. my husband and daughter eat quite a bit and this casserole only covered the 4 of us. depending on what you call a serving size, i would double up on the ingredients if you have more than 4 people in your family. thanks to everyone who put in suggestions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Very good, I grilled the chicken and then added some frozen peas and only used 3/4 cup milk. Was a little watery so will prob use less milk or more soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very salty and does not taste like cordon bleu. I made it twice changing the recipes to make it less salty but it was still too salty for my taste. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I made this last night for dinner, and my sweet hubby couldn't stop eating it! In fact, he begged me to make it again. I did modify the recipe. I used a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of the ckix kind, left out the ham, added 1/2 a sautéed red onion and used 2% cheese cubed. Didn't need as much milk as the recipe called for, but I can't tell you how much I used exactly - just made sure it didn't look "soupy" before it went into the oven. Will def add this one to the rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was great, everyone loved it. I made changes including a few tablespoons of dijon mustard, stirfried the bare-not-breaded chicken, used sliced swiss over the casserole and under a buttered cracker crumb top. Due to the "runny" comments, I started the casserole with a layer of rice and the whole thing turned out perfect. Its a keeper, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I added potatoes to mine to have something else in the casserole to absorb some of the juices and flavors. It was very good! Breading the chicken does seem like a lot of work for an otherwise simple casserole, so I may skip that next time and just do a crumb topping like some other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is kid friendly. Very good. Will make again. I wonder if we could use oven baked "fried" chicken so cut the calories/fat down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States