Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I just made this last night when I screwed up pounding out my chicken for traditional cordon bleu. Instead of a cream soup (which I didn't have!), I made white sauce with a hint of Dijon and added the Swiss cheese to the sauce. I did not bread the chicken first, but sauteed in an olive oil and butter blend and drained on paper towels. I followed the rest of the recipe pretty much, except I sprinkled a good dose of buttered bread crumbs on the top of the casserole.. not too bad!! Overall, the idea of this recipe saved dinner. I served this with sauteed broccoli spears and roasted garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was ok, I might make it again if I'm short on time. I did as other posters suggested & mixed 1/2 cup milk with 1/2 cup sour cream. It turned out a little more salty than I like, but that was probably from the ham and could be fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin N

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was a great dinner. I will be making it again. My family enjoyed it. I did follow some of the other suggestions and used 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 sour cream, and it did not come out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
My family fell in love with this recipe. I used butter instead of oil for frying the chicken, which really added a great taste-and I only used one stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
We really like this and it is so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh M.,

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was ok - not a big hit in my house. I did add 1/2 milk 1/2 sour cream as other suggested. It was a bit too salty with the condensed soup and ham - but I couldn't find the low sodium soup at my store. My husband doesn't like recipes made with condensed soup, so I am not too surprised that it didn't go over well in our house. I also didn't like the clean-up - too many dishes and the frying pan from the chicken. The pluses were the creaminess and the yummy swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was YUMMY!I used some leftover ham and swiss from the deli, so I sliced it up rather than using chunks; it was still delicious. I mixed the cream of chicken soup with sour cream and chicken broth -- a strange combination but it was so creamy! We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Ok, anything that the girls say "This is good" gets a five star rating. The family absolutely loved it and I was told it is just as good cold as a leftover as it was hot. I cheated. I used prepackaged diced ham and cubed swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
My family loved this recipe! I made quite a few changes as advised by others. I used chicken strips, halfed the milk for the sauce and then added a 1/2 cup of sour cream. I used pretty thick slices of ham and layered the chicken strips on the bottom with the ham going next and then I sprinkled a good portion of Mozzerella cheese on top of that and then last I topped with the sauce. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
so, my husband loved this. i made a couple of changes- i added some flour and parsley to the bread crumbs, i only used 1/2 a cup of milk with the canned soup, i used mozzarella cheese, i precooked the ham a little to remove some moisture, i baked it shallow in a large dish for 1 hour. it was creamy and looked great. it was really pretty for a casserole. i am adding it to my rotation of husband pleasing recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States