Chicken Continental Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ashbagash
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Well I changed a lot of the recipe, and it was really good and flavorful! I used 3 chicken breast cut into small cubes then sautéed them with butter and garlic and fresh cut broccoli instead of mushrooms(me and hubby don't like them). I spiced up with garlic salt, Italian herbs, McCormick steak spices, and ground pepper and I just eyed it no measuring. Also used one can of Campbell's cream of mushroom and chicken soup(it's a mixed can). I also used rice that was slow cooked, & used two cups sense it's so watery. Also used the chicken broth instead of water. This was quick and easy and so good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I used 4 bone-in, skin on thighs w/salt, pepper & thyme, dusted w/seasoned AP flour. Browned them first in butter & olive oil, then put them on a rack to drain. I cooked 1/2 onion diced & 3 garlic cloves smashed and 1/2 lb sliced mushrooms in the remaining oil & drippings. Then added can of low sodium chicken broth and low-fat cream of chicken soup, brought to a simmer and added 1 1/4 cup long grain par-boiled rice, BTB, RTS. Cook rice on low covered for 15 min. Put rice mixture in covered casserole dish and topped with Parsley(opt.), add Chicken thighs. Baked for 15 minutes covered, uncovered 5 min. @ 350. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was what I have been looking for. Similar baked versions I have tried have baked unevenly and the chicken was always too dry. I used a scant cup of regular rice, seasoned my sliced chicken breasts with and herb and onion blend before browning them at high heat, after adding the other ingredients I simmered it all for 20 minutes lid on stirring once, then let it sit (it looked a bit soupy at this point) lid off for 10 minutes off the heat. It turned out creamy and really much better than I hoped. I was afraid the chicken would be overcooked, but it wasn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I also added a bit of half/half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Just didn't care for this. Not bad, just very plain. Kids ate it ok (3 and 5 yr old) with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
chicken was very tender, but rice needto be much creamier. Follow recipe exactly. Would not make again. Traditional baked chicken/rice casseroles are much higher quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great and easy- one of my childhood favorites- I can make a meal out of the rice alone ! I don't use the instant rice though.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchenann
Home Town: Lemon Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I didn't bother browning the chicken because once I put it in with the butter, there was too much liquid to brown it. I added 1/2 cup of sour cream and substituted chicken broth for the water. It came out delicious!! My husband is super picky and he ate every bit! It almost tastes like chicken and dumplins! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was delicious! What a great family pleaser too. My husband loved that this was comfort food on a cool fall evening. I cut my chicken into strips and added a half can of cream of mushroom soup as well. I used canned portabella mushroom pieces drained. I added a good tsp of chicken bouillion granules with the water and used long grain uncooked rice. I just simmered this about 30 min and it was fantastic. The rice got a little brown on the bottom of the pan, but that was my favorite part! Thanks, very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I used 8 oz of mushrooms and cream of mushroom soup since it's all I had and it was really good! I also cooked my rice in a rice cooker and omitted the water in the pan and then just served the chicken on top of the rice w/the sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iheartcooking

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States