Chicken Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I just made this recipe today for my boyfriend who loves cilantro and he was not that impressed. The concept is actually really good however in my opinion the recipe needs some tweaking. The reason for this is that the rice and hominy together in the same pot created a mush that was not at all attractive either tastewise or visually. My recommendation is either cook the rice separately and leave out the hominy (substitute corn) or make it into a soup. For the soup, I will only use 2 chicken breasts, half a cup of rice and I will not use hominy since the hominy and rice pretty much have the same consistency. Next time I plan on using corn and adding some lime juice, a little cayenne powder and also chicken stock instead of water. Also adding some chopped cilantro that has not been pulverized might be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I am an avid lover of garlic and cilantro, so it's no surprise that I thought this was fabulous. I actually ended up using almost double the amount of cilantro and garlic for the sauce. I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and cumin before sauteing. My chicken was a little over-cooked in the end, so next time I'll be careful to really just lightly brown it before starting the 20-minute cook-time. Also, I HIGHLY recommend serving this with a squeeze of fresh lime juice. It really brought the flavors together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
A very fresh tasting dish (if you like Cilantro!) I added a splash of lime juice and I served it over pasta instead of rice. I had a sprig of fresh cilantro and a thin wedge of lime as a garnish. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I used corn instead of hominy (cannot stand hominy) and I cooked the rice separately (way more convenient). It was good but it was even better with the juice of one large lime. Nice recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
LOVED this recipe! LOVED! So tasty. Very easy. Tried to stretch it once and added extra rice, made it like a casserole. Once added some whole cooked pinto beans, because I love them, and loved that variation too! Big hit with all of the family, from kids to grandpa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I made exactly as per the recipe, only I added a carrot into the puree mix. It was really easy and good. It wasn't mushy at all - be sure not to stir too much once the rice is in. I also garnished with more cilantro and a few squeezes of lime juice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I thought this was really yummy. It would be a great St. Patrick's Day tradition, since it is so very green! The only thing I added was a tsp. of ground cumin- gave it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I love the flavor of cilantro so this dish was perfect. In fact, I have been searching for a version of Peruvian "arroz con pollo" and I'd say this would be it. The hominy adds a nice textural element. Next time I'd like to try browning my chicken separately from the onions, and trying thigh pieces instead. Otherwise, I wouldn't change much. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I used chicken broth instead of water in this recipe. We ate ALL of the leftovers! I've already told several people about it. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I really enjoyed this dish. It was simple to make and tasted delicious. I didn't have hominy so I used corn and I thought it worked great. I did, however, want just a little more flavor or spice so I added some chili sauce. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States