Chicken Chow Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I did like the recipe. I don't really get too fussy with exact measurements, so I might have added more soy sauce than what was called for. All in all, I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Not the most Asian tasting dish, but it was nice. I used bok choy instead of celery, baby corn spears instead of corn kernels, and olive oil instead of butter. I think that I will use a little more soy sauce next time and use sesame oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I bought Chinese Noodles from the grocery store to serve this dish over. For the green beans, I used the fresh, sweet & tender, small, French green beans, that I cut in half. And I only used one onion. Everyone loved the dish, and my daughter thought I had purchased the dish from a restaurant, or bought it from a store. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeaninne Raaberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Thank you for having the REAL chow mein recipe...with some changes noted in comments. The West coast can take their noodles and really brown them. Over sticky rice is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Sooo very good. I added a little more lite soy sauce and about 1/2 cup diagonally sliced carrots. Thank you, Ruth for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BirdNSav

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was an easy chow mein recipe. I did add some yakisoba noodles because when I think of Chow Mein, I think of noodles. DO NOT USE yakisoba noodles! The chicken broth makes it taste like super dried ramen noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was a pretty good, basic recipe - I am sure it could be customized to your own taste. As it is, I found it a great way to clean out leftover veggies - throw in some mushrooms, beans, frozen mixed veggies, it all works. I think next time I make it, though, I will try to use Asian veggies like straw mushrooms, water chestnuts, etc. Having authentic chow mein noodles made a big difference with this recipe, I think, and also I used a little sesame oil instead of the butter to add some nice flavor to the recipe. Overall, a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is a great chow mein recipe! I usually trade out the baby corn and green beans for water chesnuts and bamboo, but that's just my personal taste. It really has a wonderful subtle flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
jiust wanted to say 30 years ago, this was a special recipe, heck I remember my mom opening that can of chicken chow mein and serving it with the noodles that came on top of the chow mein can, with minute rice. This lady was sharing a reciepe that made her happy. Breathe ok, serenity now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This isn't really a review. But, growing up I learned Chow Mein was on a bed of Chow Mein Noodles. Chop Suey was served over steamed rice and that was the only difference between the two. Just an FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States