Chicken Chow Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2000
Love this recipe!!! It seems like it might be a lot of work, but really takes no time to make, and have made it about once a month already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
Ohm, am I missing something here? I have not made this dish because I am looking for a CHOW MEIN dish, isn't chow mein a NOODLE? I see no noodles in this recipe, I don't get it, this is just a chicken dish, where's the chow mein part?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
This recipe was quick and easy but it wasn't exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
The vegetables got very soggy. I perfer them a little crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
very good, everyone who ate this meal at my house loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I have always wanted to make homemade chow mein. this was a very good recipe. My printer was not working so when I wrote it down for the garlic powder I just put 1/4. Well I put 1/4 cup of garlic powder but it was very good. We love garlic. I would like it just a little thicker though. But would make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This is a good base recipe. I found the sauce a little bland, I think it needs about twice the soy sauce and perhaps a bit of chicken bullion powder for a more intense chicken-y flavor. I also just used a canned asian vegetable blend instead of fresh veggies as I was in a hurry. Tasted fine like that but I am looking forward to making it again with a few alterations and fresh veggies. Overall it made a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
the recipe was fine- a touch on the bland side for my taste. I feel it would need a bit more Zest to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I have tried this recipe several times, I thought it needed kicking up a notch. So I basically made a new recipe by adding 1 tablespoon of garlic powder, 1 box sliced fresh portobello baby mushrooms, 1 teaspoon oyster sauce, 1 tablespoon ginger root, 1 pound of fresh green beans, 1/4 cup soy sauce and 1/2 bag of bean sprouts. I used two cans of chicken broth and enough cornstarch to make it a little thicker. This turned out very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I have lived on both the east and west coast. On the east coast we eat chowmein on top of rice and crispy noodles. On the west coast the sauce, veggies and meat are mixed with noodles, which made me really sad because I like it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States