Chicken Chow Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I have made this several times and my whole family enjoys it. I love bean sprouts so I use 1/2 lb of bean sprouts in place of the green beans. For previous posters, I did a little research and chow mein is traditionally served *over* crunchy/fried noodles, lo mein is made with soft noodles. Don't avoid this recipe because it's not quite what you're looking for - find a way to work it in somewhere. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Wonderful dish! I made a few changes beforehand such as seasoning the chicken in lemon pepper and basil, added a little more soy sauce, added some chopped up cabbage and bean sprouts instead of green beans. I also took out the baby corn because my husband doesn't like them much. A really wonderful meal as chow mein is his favorite. I served it over rice and added some crispy chow mein noodles on the top. Making it made me have more interest in studying asian dishes as we can never find a good asian restaurant anymore. They've all practically turned into fast food or buffets now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I'd probably use a bit more soy sauce, less celery and add peas to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Pretty good! It needed a little more salt in my opinion - but with soy sauce- my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it for dinner tonight. It is comparable to our local chinese restaurants' chicken chow mein. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBourgeois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westwego, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This was pretty good. It lacked some flavor but it made a lot of food. It was simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This recipe was really good. My husband love it! I served it on a bed of egg noodles that I had handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I have lived on both the east and west coast. On the east coast we eat chowmein on top of rice and crispy noodles. On the west coast the sauce, veggies and meat are mixed with noodles, which made me really sad because I like it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I have tried this recipe several times, I thought it needed kicking up a notch. So I basically made a new recipe by adding 1 tablespoon of garlic powder, 1 box sliced fresh portobello baby mushrooms, 1 teaspoon oyster sauce, 1 tablespoon ginger root, 1 pound of fresh green beans, 1/4 cup soy sauce and 1/2 bag of bean sprouts. I used two cans of chicken broth and enough cornstarch to make it a little thicker. This turned out very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
the recipe was fine- a touch on the bland side for my taste. I feel it would need a bit more Zest to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States