Chicken Chow Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This really lacked something. Was more like a Pot Pie filling than a Chow Mein. Made the noodles like a prior reviewer suggested- fried in oil, soy sauce and ginger; those were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This one tastes almost like the canned chicken Chow mein. I thought it was good but it was missing a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was absolutely delicious! I did change it a bit just to take out the celery and green beans and to add bean sprouts and water chestnuts. The sauce was a little on the thin/watery side but next time I think I will add less chicken broth. I served it over white rice so instead of chicken chow mein, I made chicken chop suey! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very good! We served the dish over rice, and it was wonderful vegetable filled comfort food on a cold day. I used fresh green beans from the garden but I imagine frozen green beans would be good too. I also buy rotisserie chickens from the store deli, and use them for all my recipes that call for cooked chicken. It is a big time saver for me when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
very excellent chow mein...i would just like to clear something up for everyone...i was born in philadelphia..but moved to LA for college...Lo Mein is the dish on the east coast which west coasters consider Chow Mein...chow mein is actually an eggy, runny dish served over white rice...Lo Mein (means soft noodles) is the noodles and brown sauce...please dont botch this recipe! it is perfect for what chow mein REALLY is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I LOVE Chinese food and this recipe fills my love of Chinese food. Great recipe and thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Really good, will definately make it again. What's great about recipes like this is that you can really throw whatever you have on hand in them. It was quick and healthy, all in the prep work, which makes a great weeknight meal. My own changes: I cooked the chicken in 2 minced garlic cloves and olive oil, used 1 can sliced water chestnuts, 2 cloves pressed garlic instead of garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. ginger, 1/2 cup sugar snap peas & 1/2 cup bean sprouts instead of green beans, 2 1/2 tbs of cornstarch and 2 1/2 tbs soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I was fifteen before I realized that Chinese restaurants served more than just chow mein because that's all my mom ever ordered when we got take out. This is one of my least favorite Chinese dishes, but my hubster loves it and enjoyed this version very much. Even in restaurants, chow mein isn't all that flavorful, but I did add more seasonings and more soy sauce to give it a little zip. I also threw in water chestnuts, sugar snap peas instead of the beans and a ton of sliced onions. A light and healthy dinner, Ruth, and I thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
very good recipe.I used other veggies and a little salt & pepper but my husband & i both thought it was wonderful-thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
this recipe was VERY good. we added mushrooms, baby corn, bamboo shoots, water chesnuts and bean sprouts. over all it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States