Chicken Chow Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was good but needed work for my family. I hope you try it and see if you like it. I did and i know what i need to do to get it were my family likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Just made this recipe today and I must say, we loved it. I did the onions, celery and mushrooms (canned) along with the garlic powder. Sauted that a few minutes then threw in raw chopped chicken breast and continued to saute till cooked. Then the chicken broth and a can of drained stir fry vegtables. Simmered that a few minutes and then the soy sauce and then the cornstarch water mix. I served over rice noodles and some sides of sweet plum sauce and soy sauce. I will make this often. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I tried this out for dinner tonight, everyone enjoyed it. I added about double the soy sauce and used bean sprouts in place of green beans. I think next time I make it I'll use less chicken broth, maybe only 2 cups instead of the 2 and a half it calls for. I served it on stir-fried chow mein noodles, tossed with a touch of sesame oil...I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdy Guy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Good dish but, is everyone out there that likes Chowmein to young to remember in the 70's chowmein was only made with beansprouts, green onions carrots, celery with bits of meat and all of this was put over hard noodles. It was piles high on your plate and great to eat. Only older chinese resturants seem to know about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Love the recipe...and to veggigoddess. It just seems obvious that you add noodles as you see fit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
It was a hit! I am not a huge fan of Chinese foods and this was just enough for me. I used 1/4 cup soy and cauliflower instead of green beans. I only used one onion and next time I would use more mushrooms. I slightly fried the noodles in some olive oil after draining and rinsing because it was the only oil I had on hand. It is yummy, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apaige232

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
It was ok. I liked the mix of veggies and the crunchiness but overall it was just "ok".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jahbree1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Not bad, a little bland, needed to add more ginger and garlic. Will definitely make this again but add more stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was pretty good, although not a true oriental taste. Here are the changes I made (a combination of those previously listed): I added about 1 cup sugar snap peas, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 c soy sauce, 2 1/2 T cornstarch. Next time I won't do the green beans, because for me they didn't make much sense, perhaps bean sprouts would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States