Chicken Chow Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Where are the noodles? For you east coasters who believe Chow Mein is a dish to be served on rice, you've got it wrong. Mein means noodles! Don't take my noodles from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
My Dad has been buging me to make a chow mein my grandmother used to make & my Mom. Well Thanks to you I found it and it made my Dad & Mom even other family members VERY Happy it is very very good!! LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Good recipe,I skipped adding the beans and the corn and served over the crunchy noodles.Came out well ,a bit thin,needed more corn starch.I would make this again.If served with the soft noodles it is lo-mein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
this dish looks more like chop suey than chow mein. lo mien is an noodle dish while chow mein is made with bean sprouts over crisp noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I used only vegetable oil, substituted soy beans for the green beans and added bean sprouts toward the end. I didn't want it too soupy, so I decreased the broth. I did add water chestnuts and red pepper flakes (thanks to the suggestions). I finished it with a couple splashes of sesame oil at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I have made this probably a dozen times and have finally found the missing ingredient.....GROUND GINGER!!!! I changed the recipe a lot but was happy to find a good base. I sub out different veggies, broccoli, water chestnuts, celery, bamboo shoots, onion, peas and omitted the chicken. I also sub veg stock. Add a few dashes of sesame oil while sautéing the veg. Upped the cornstarch an extra tbs and 2 tbs of soy sauce. Add a couple dashes of ground ginger and good to go :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I am a poor college student and found a way to make this work from similar ingredients in my pantry. I didn't have mushrooms, but i think it really needed it, or celery (not a fan anyways). I added water chestnuts and 2 tsp fish sauce, and instead of using chicken broth i used a ramen noodle chicken seasoning packet mixed with water. I made it over the actual ramen noodles and it was delicious! adding to my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was phenomenal!! I didn't use as much butter -- and boiled 4 chicken breasts (I like my protein!) ahead of time. I used mushrooms and canned corn because I hate baby corn. I used rice vermicelli soaked in chicken broth -- could have used plain water though it tasted quite chicken-y enough! This went so AWESOME with the Sweet and Sour Pork III from this site. Holy Hannah, I found a way to satiate my Chinese food craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Sorry, but this just was not very flavorful. I expected mild and I love chow mein, but this just didn't do it for me. I followed the recipe exactly, only adding a few more vegies than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
If you are using fresh veggies, (and realize you can be creative veering to bits of colorful options not listed) this is really good. It IS mild, so if you are thinking spicy, you might want to throw in some red pepper. We like it over rice with crunchy chow mein noodles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States