Chicken Chorizo on Quinoa with Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was delicious and easy to make (very much a novice cook over here and I didn't have to call my sister once to say something like, "So, sauteeing ... what is that?). But it was also totally delicious and flavorful. I like things hot so I may add some chili power next time to kick it up a notch. Also: We had a ton of quinoa left over, so I would suggest only making one cup instead of three (don't forget to cut the chicken broth too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I'm giving this recipe five stars because it got me thinking in a different direction. Due to flavour preferences and what I had on hand, my dish became more of an Italian rather than Spanish inspired dish, but it was wonderful. And it got me to try quinoa (which is now a staple in my kitchen!)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Delicious! Recipe is a great base for modifications - omitted bell peppers and it was wonderful. Also made only 2 cups quinoa (to 4 cups stock) and had leftovers. This was my first attempt at making and eating quinoa and I am hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Yummy! I didn't have sausage so I used chicken, would have been better with Sausage but still turned out well. I also didn't have the hot peppers, so to add flavor I used spicy V8 instead of the last cup of chicken stock. Will make again with the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Nyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Had being hearing all sorts of good things about Quinoa so last time I was at the store, I picked some up. Not knowing what to do with it, I searched allrecipes.com and found this! The dish was very good. I will make again. Followed directions but you can definitely cook much less Quinoa. I had plenty extra after eating all the peppers and sausage. Also I used Pork Chorizo because there was no Chicken Chorizo at the market I shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was so GOOD!! First time trying Quinoa and I loved it. I will be using it over and over again in other recipes. I did use vegetable stock because I didn't have Chicken and less quinoa because I thought it was a lot and not sure I was going to like it. I also added mushrooms chopped fine with the onions because I had some:) A lot of good flavor going on here.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I don't make a lot of recipes twice, but this is DELIC! I tweaked it by cutting the recipe in half, and added spicy chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
We liked this recipe a lot, however, when I make it again I'll only make half the amount of quinoa because we have tons left and not enough peppers/sausage to go with it. My boyfriend added hot sauce but I liked the flavor just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was great! I had to change a couple of things due to the lack of chorizo here. I used regular link already cooked chorizo, but it worked perfectly. We love quinoa, and my kids wolfed this down with an occasional glass of milk to curb the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Amazing. The quinoa was the only good quinoa I've ever tasted. Ha! I substituted andouille sausage for the chorizo and jalapenos for the poblanos. Turned out great. Also, instead of removing sausage from pan, I sliced it first, cooked, then just added everything else in according to the instructions. I thought this was easier and added flavor to the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Chef John’s Chorizo and Chicken Skewers

Spicy chorizo sausage adds big flavor to lean chicken and veggie skewers.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States