Chicken Chorizo on Quinoa with Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I don't make a lot of recipes twice, but this is DELIC! I tweaked it by cutting the recipe in half, and added spicy chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I used a light spray of olive oil cooking spray instead of butter, and in place of olive oil, because I'm on a low fat diet. For the same reason, I used 2 small, lean boneless skinless chicken breasts, and no chorizo sausage. For the peppers, I used 2 large purple bell peppers from my garden, and 3 green cayenne chili peppers, also from my garden, and a dried ancho chili, seeded and cut into small pieces. I also added a small plum tomato and three yellow pear tomatoes to the pepper and onion mixture. Wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I'm giving this recipe five stars because it got me thinking in a different direction. Due to flavour preferences and what I had on hand, my dish became more of an Italian rather than Spanish inspired dish, but it was wonderful. And it got me to try quinoa (which is now a staple in my kitchen!)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
My family really enjoyed this recipe. We had to sub. a few things because I didn't have true ingredients. I sub. ground sausage for chicken chorizo and smoked paprika. I imagin the original recipe must be delisious. I will try it again once I find chicken chorizo. Thanks for great dish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Excellent recipe! I didn't do the Quinoa part because I didn't have any - served on top of Italian sun-dried tomatoe cous-cous. Followed rest of recipe but used chorizo (beef or pork - don't know but it wasn't chicken). Flavor was excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Delicious! Recipe is a great base for modifications - omitted bell peppers and it was wonderful. Also made only 2 cups quinoa (to 4 cups stock) and had leftovers. This was my first attempt at making and eating quinoa and I am hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was so GOOD!! First time trying Quinoa and I loved it. I will be using it over and over again in other recipes. I did use vegetable stock because I didn't have Chicken and less quinoa because I thought it was a lot and not sure I was going to like it. I also added mushrooms chopped fine with the onions because I had some:) A lot of good flavor going on here.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Amazing. The quinoa was the only good quinoa I've ever tasted. Ha! I substituted andouille sausage for the chorizo and jalapenos for the poblanos. Turned out great. Also, instead of removing sausage from pan, I sliced it first, cooked, then just added everything else in according to the instructions. I thought this was easier and added flavor to the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was great! I had to change a couple of things due to the lack of chorizo here. I used regular link already cooked chorizo, but it worked perfectly. We love quinoa, and my kids wolfed this down with an occasional glass of milk to curb the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was delicious and easy to make (very much a novice cook over here and I didn't have to call my sister once to say something like, "So, sauteeing ... what is that?). But it was also totally delicious and flavorful. I like things hot so I may add some chili power next time to kick it up a notch. Also: We had a ton of quinoa left over, so I would suggest only making one cup instead of three (don't forget to cut the chicken broth too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Chef John’s Chorizo and Chicken Skewers

Spicy chorizo sausage adds big flavor to lean chicken and veggie skewers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States