Chicken Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
The family loved it. I basted them with butter and cooked in the oven at 400 for about 25 minutes. I also pre-mixed the rice, beans, chicken and olives in the pot with the rice, which made the filling one step. I used the big tortillas, which made for monster sized chimichangas. Very satisfying (and stuffing) meal. The ingredients as listed make a lot of filling. I made 6 jumbo chimi's and have enough left over for another 6. It took about an hour preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zswanie
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
It is a keeper. Will make it again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I tried this recipe and loved it. However...... Instead of 1 1/2 cup of broth for the rice, I did 2 1/2 of chicken broth. 1 1/2 cup did not allow my rice to cook thoroughly. And the chicken deserved a pinch of salt. Also, the topping needs atleast another tbsp of cilantro.... Oh, and I skipped the olives. Other then that, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Easy and yummy!! Used Ortega taco sauce mild instead of enchililada sauce and left out the olives. Also used Minute Rice and followed package directions. Topped with sauce and sour cream. Had refried beans with shredded cheese and sauce on the side. Should have taken a photo. Ate it up instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perryville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Crystal City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I followed other people's recommendation to bake in oven 400 degrees for 20 minutes. My family loved these - kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
we both enjoyed this, but there was just way too much onion for me.. i cut the recipe in half and the filing was still enough for the full amount.. used chile verde sauce for the enchilada sauce and leftover grilled salt and pepper chicken breast.. didn't have the ingredients for the topping.. so we ate it straight up.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Love these! It takes some time to dice up the chicken, onions, etc and to wait for the rice to simmer, but so worth it. The flavor combination is perfect! We don't usually even bother making the topping, but just serve them with sour cream and salsa, as they are fantastic as is! Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My family liked this recipe. I seasoned the chicken and rice with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cumin yo ensure that it had flavor. In addition, I buttered and baked it versus frying. I would definitely make it again; but it is a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
needed more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is great. To speed things up I mixed all the filling ingredients, except the refried beans, together and that made it easier to fill the tortillas. The refried beans I smeared on the tortilla before adding the rest of the filling. I thought the filling tasted bland at first, but after putting the whole meal together it was perfect. I did make the guacamole and served a generous dollop of it on a bed of shredded lettuce with a dollop of sour cream and a dollop of salsa next to it. Like other reviewers, I rubbed olive oil on the chimichangas and baked them in the oven at 375 degrees until they were hot and golden. Then I placed them on the bed of lettuce. Any extra enchilada sauce got poured on them before baking. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States