Chicken Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I took some time to prepare the rice and chicken in advance, that way when it was dinner time all I had to do was assemble to chimis and fry. I used refried black beans which gave them a good authentic mexican flavor. Also, I made the the guacamole and a homemade salsa earlier in the day. The time they chilled in the frige made the flavors come together nicely. My whole family loved these chimis. Will definately become a family favorite. Also, I made about 15 chimis by useing the recipie adjuster on the website. Finally as you roll the chimis you will get better at rolling and tucking them tightly. Practice makes perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Love this recipe! My husband is a picky eater and he had nothing but praise for the chimichangas-A real accomplishment! I also cooked these up for my family and shared the recipe with some friends. Recipe cooks up easy and leaves little to clean up. I am very pleased. Ingredients can be cooked/chopped ahead and assembled later. I also grilled them in my george foreman grill for an extra cripsy outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Wonderful!! I have made this three times in the past three weeks. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Very very good recipe, I would not suggest waiting till your are starving to start making this :) It took a while longer than I had hoped but it was great. I used store bought guac and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
This recipe is a little involved but definitely worth the time it takes to prepare it. Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This is the best meal I and my family have had! We would definately order this in a restaurant! I had a blast making it. I only used half an onion in the rice and omitted the other. I also didn't have any olives. I deep fried it. Thank-you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
this is a great recipe - you may want to add a red enchilada-type sauce to pour over the chimis. very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
Excellent home version of one of our favorite restaurant food! (even better actually) Thanks for sharing it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe!! I too live in Texas and think this is as authentic as they come. Do to some time constraints i omitted black olives and refried beans. I used chedder cheese (it's what i had in the refriderator). This turned out great. If you don't have time to make the topping, just add a little cheese on top along with some sour cream and you are in business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Itsavy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States