Chicken Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My family liked this recipe. I seasoned the chicken and rice with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cumin yo ensure that it had flavor. In addition, I buttered and baked it versus frying. I would definitely make it again; but it is a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine Chambers McManaman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
needed more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is great. To speed things up I mixed all the filling ingredients, except the refried beans, together and that made it easier to fill the tortillas. The refried beans I smeared on the tortilla before adding the rest of the filling. I thought the filling tasted bland at first, but after putting the whole meal together it was perfect. I did make the guacamole and served a generous dollop of it on a bed of shredded lettuce with a dollop of sour cream and a dollop of salsa next to it. Like other reviewers, I rubbed olive oil on the chimichangas and baked them in the oven at 375 degrees until they were hot and golden. Then I placed them on the bed of lettuce. Any extra enchilada sauce got poured on them before baking. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Good recipe, but tried to make a little healthier. Ended up using low salt broth and anything else I could find in the low salt variety.. Instead of frying them, I baked them until browned using some spray to coat the pan. Turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I added green pepper to the rice mix and after the rice set up- also added the rest of the can of enchilada sauce. I added some garlic powder too. I tasted it before rolling them up and the mix is SO good! This recipe makes ALOT. It made 10 huge chimichangas. I took the advice from other suscribers and am baking it right now in the oven! Can wait to try it with all the fixings! :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki2197

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Y U M M Y ! ! ! Didn't use olives, don't like them. Didn't use jalepenos, don't like them. This was one of the best dinners ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Great recipe. I modified a couple of things: 1. I am currently obsessed with my pressure cooker, so I prepared the chicken, broth, enchilada sauce, and onions in it. I also added a little cumin and cilantro in the mix. When it was done, I shredded the chicken instead of cubed. 2. I used Spanish rice instead of just white for more flavor. 3. I left out the olives - ick! 4. I baked this instead of fried. About 20 min on 400. 5. I substituted all dairy for non-dairy versions because of allergies. Just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Three Bridges, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Easy and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Very good!! My family LOVED this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jramos823
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
they were pretty good! my only complaint is that i wish there wouldve been instructions on how to cook the chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States