Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Sooo good! Only thing is you should really use chicken broth instead of bouillon for the sauce. the bouillon creates an unappetizing nuclear yellow coloured sauce which just ends up being very salty, imho. Leave lots of time for the chicken to cook nice and slow! My mouth is watering just thinking about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe. Avoid if you are in a hurry though. It does take a while to cook the chicken but worth it. The sauce can be a little 'floury' but is easily remedied by adding a little white mexican cheese. These are great warmed up for lunch the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My family loved this meal so much they requested it again a week later! My wife and kids can be picky eaters, and this meal was a winner for everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I make this all the time, it's one of my family's favorites! It may not be the fastest meal to make, but since my family doesn't always like the same thing, it's definitely worth it to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This has become a standby recipe in my dinner repertoire! Doing it in a saucepan is a LOT of work, though, so I do my chicken in a slow cooker, all day long, with the water and the spices. This makes the chicken literally fall apart once you're ready to put it into the tortillas. I also bake them at 425 rather than deep frying. I make the sauce while they're baking, and voila! I am ashamed to say that I can eat a LOT of these in one sitting....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Very yum :) I use this recipes for our enchiladas as well. I use chicken thighs instead of breast and it is fantastic. My family loves the sauce and they are not sour cream fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
OUTSTANDING! I cannot say enough about the great flavor of this dish. I used my own El Toro sauce. My daughter went on and on about how it was better than our favorite Mexican restaurant's version. Next time I'm going to double the recipe and freeze half for later. Thanks for sharing. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I have made these numerous times and my family just loves them! Per others suggestions, I go heavy on the seasonings by doubling them. Also, my local Mexican market makes fresh homemade whole wheat tortillas so I bake them with some olive oil. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I don't often leave a recipe as is, but I tried this one just as the author said and it turned out perfectly! The next time we made them I didn't want to get the fryer out on a weeknight, so I made them as enchiladas with the sauce on the top. They were a little bit soggy, but they still tasted delicious! I think the key if you want to make them is to make the filling a day ahead and reduce the liquid down to almost nothing so that they have all of the flavor without the mess. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheznoelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Great recipe. Got really good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States