Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Excellent recipe. Love the sour cream sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I've followed this recipe pretty to the letter several times now and get rave reviews each time! The only small difference is that I use the seasoned water I had the chicken boiling in instead of adding the cup of plain water and a bouillon cube. I remove the shredded chicken after about 30 minutes of simmering and then let the stock reduce to a cup and half or so. I added a few pinches of harrissa and some fresh ground parmigiano reggiano to the sauce as well! I tried baking but prefer deep fried for about a minute as it crisps up the tortilla shell nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nowwe'recookin!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I thought it was overall pretty good. I think the meat had good flavor, I used bone in chicken thighs and also substituted some of the water with chicken broth. The only thing questionable was the sour cream sauce. Mine came out very watery and I had to use more flour to thicken it up some. But I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Good chimas but try different sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These were great!! I put half the amount of water in the chicken, brushed with EVOO and baked for 20 min at 400 instead of fried them. HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamieb85
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These were so good! I made the chicken filling ahead of time and did add 3 cups of water. The liquid will definitely dilute down to 1 cup but the time stated wasn't long enough for it to do so. I took the chicken out after the 2nd 15 minutes and let the liquid reduce that way, then added the chicken back in. The sour cream sauce is delicious! My husband loved them also and asked I could add them to our regular recipe rotation:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
These are absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
these were a hit at dinner. A couple minor changes....but nothing that changed it drastically. I added 1 TB of cilantro (because I really like cilantro) and used half cheddar/half Jack as that is what I had on hand. I made them with Chef John's Flour Tortillas from this site . The homemade tortillas really made the dish and they were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Use the liquid from the chicken cooking for sauce in addition to the 1cup of chicken broth. Double the spices. double the chicken. Add some cream cheese with the sour cream to the sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I used the sour cream sauce recipe, it was awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States