Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I made this tonight and it was GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I got lots of compliments on this from my husband, especially about the sauce. I made this as written with only a few minor changes based on our preferences: I omitted the diced onion and used fat free sour cream. I also baked the chimichangas in the oven (by themselves without the sauce) for 18 minutes at 425 instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I followed the recipe as is: I thought the chimis were great, but the sauce lacked flavor. It was just like creamy sour cream, nothing special. Also, there's got to be an easier way to roll these without the tortilla ripping. I'll make these again but avoid boiling the chicken, 3 cups of water took forever to boil down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iGreenSodaPop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
My family loves this recipe. The only change I mades was I cooked the chicken with all the spices in the crockpot on low for 6 hours, then transferred it to the stove top to reduce the liquid before shredding the chicken. The chicken was more flavorful this way. We will definitely make this again. Becky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Moved a few months ago from PA where there was a Restaurant named Fiesta Ole, they had some excellent chicken chimichangas, I missed them sooooo... much until today. I decided to look for a recipe on them and came across this one. Thank You SSTRAWDER!!! Although I had leftover cooked chicken, I decided to give this one a whirl by boiling the leftover chicken in water and all the spices and veggies provided in the recipe, (also added some leftover chopped green pepper I had in the fridge so that it didn't go to waste) and then made the sr cr sauce exactly as stated with the exception of scaling the servings down to just 3 for both. It came out so good, I was bragging about it. I don't even think about missing the chimichangas at that restaurant back home. Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I thought this recipe was delicious. IF I have one suggestion it would be to use medium to larger tortilla shells because the smaller ones (which I used)aren't as manageble (I like 'em BIG). And the sauce was the BOMB.COM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alligirl3883

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Oh this is so good! My kids (12 & 9)love it. I also baked the chimichangas instead of frying them. I'm sure they'd be soooo good fried but made the healthier choice to bake them and they turned out great. The sour cream sauce is delicious! I didn't use green chiles as I didn't have any on hand and forgot to add them to the grocery list. Are they spicy? My kids are a little cautious of spicy stuff so maybe we wouldn't need them if they are. My husband and I put a little hot sauce on top if we feel like having them a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Excellent! Chris although would prefer topping it with cheese instead of sour cream sauce but I thought it was good. Could use half of water to speed up cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
We really liked this recipe. I did brush on some oil and baked in the oven vs frying and they were just great. The first time I made the sauce, I seasoned it as suggested with salt and pepper and it was too salty. Second time I made it, I left the salt out and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Absolutely wonderful... I too baked them turning them over after 8 mins. Also, I added the leftover meat sauce to the sour cream sauce then drizzled it over and it was outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States