Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Wow. We loved these. Thanks to the other reviewers, I want to recommend that you cook them in the deep fryer with canola oil heated up to 375. They will cook quickly to the perfect crispy brown. 2. Used more green chilis cause we like our Mexican spicey. 3. Followed recipe completely and loved the chicken flavor and the sauce! The second time we made these we used store bought pre-cooked chicken fajita strips (John Soules brand or Tyson chicken tenders). We made dinner in half the time with pre- cooked chicken that needed no extra seasoning. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Absolutely amazing taste. I would make this once a week. I did have to make a few changes because I thought I had boullion and did not. I substituted 1 can (14.5oz) of chicken stock for the water and had to use poultry seasoning salt and pepper in the cream sauce. I also bought the wrong tortillas and used ten inch but with the same proportion of filling. This allowed me to wrap them quite tightly and did not need to use a toothpick in the ends. After the first 15 minutes I started shredding up the chicken into smaller pieces and continued to let cook just like the directions. After the second fifteen minutes I shredded the chicken right in the mixture and let it simmer down the rest of the way. I also added poultry seasoning to the raw chicken and then doubled the rest of the spices except the chili powder. I generally do not rate recipes I am not following to the letter but this was too fabulous to not comment on. My only complaint would be the tortilla flavor. I used mission but the shell did not turn out as well as I have had in restaraunts. I do not know what they use to wrap with though so these are a fair enough substitute. The rest of the flavors are amazing. The next time I will make the filling the day before and reheat to fill. I think they would be even more flavoful, but there are no leftovers to judge by this time around ~ Thank you for my new favorite chicken dish. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I must say.. these were really good! I could not believe it when my daughter who does not like mexican food told me she really liked this. We all really likded this and I will be making again. I did not fry mine.. i rubbed with EVOO and backed about 18 minutes at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Excellent, but a little bit of work. I froze half of the meat filling and used it later, which made preparation a little easier. Definitely going to keep this recipe on hand! Thanks for sharing! Also loved the sour cream sauce...so easy, creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING!!!! Like others we bake them in the oven after brushing with olive oil for about 20 minutes on 420ish. The chicken does cook in about 20 minutes so I take out and shred and keep warm while the sauce reduces a little more. Also i doubled the spices as well. Thank you SSTRAWDER. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was awesome! Next time I'll add some jalapeño in the sauce too! Thanks for the keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Love everything but the sauce I go get the el viajero restaurant style Mexican cheese to go with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Martha
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Absolutely wonderful and we know Mexican food. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
i liked this recipe very much i wanted to make something diferent for diner and this def worked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachstgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States