Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This turned out really, really well. I knew the sour cream sauce had to be good, but wasn't too sure what to expect otherwise. I would recommend frying them a little longer than 1 minute on each side--they came out a little bit cool, so I threw them in for another minute per side. If you end up going with the full 3 cups of water, it will take a while to boil down, but it is totally worth the wait. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe. I definitely agree with the other comments which recommend using less water and more spices. To the filling I added diced jalapenos, a diced cubanelle pepper, and a full can of green chilies. It definitely wasn't overpowering and could have even used a little more spice. I omitted the use of the bouillon cube and instead used a cup of the mixture broth and it turned out perfectly! The leftovers I'm hoping to put on nachos or something. I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bravo Alpha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Awesome Chimichangas better than my favorite restaurants was a huge hit for my large family thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioMomof6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
my whole family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These were delicious. Only change I made was to add a few squirts of Chipotle Tabasco (green) to the chicken mixture. I didn't have the ingredients for the sauce, so just topped with a dollop of sour cream. Husband really liked and he's not a favorite of Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARIDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Wales, Florida, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Delicious. It was a lot of work so better if you prepare the meat ahead of time or double the recipie so you have leftovers or enough for a party. But overall so good. Would make again when there was more than just my husband and I to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Absolutely DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Hurt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Really Tasty! Everyone loved them! just the right amount of spice! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was very good. I was patient and let the sauce cook down. I added some green Tabasco sauce to the sour cream sauce, too. Instead of frying, I brushed the whole thing with olive oil and baked in my convection toaster oven at 400 degrees for 5 minutes, turned over and baked 5 more minutes. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States