Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
AMAZING! Followed the recipe to the tee with the exception of baking at 425 degrees for 15 minutes vs. deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was very good. I was patient and let the sauce cook down. I added some green Tabasco sauce to the sour cream sauce, too. Instead of frying, I brushed the whole thing with olive oil and baked in my convection toaster oven at 400 degrees for 5 minutes, turned over and baked 5 more minutes. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This turned out really, really well. I knew the sour cream sauce had to be good, but wasn't too sure what to expect otherwise. I would recommend frying them a little longer than 1 minute on each side--they came out a little bit cool, so I threw them in for another minute per side. If you end up going with the full 3 cups of water, it will take a while to boil down, but it is totally worth the wait. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
i followed the recipe almost..i doubled the seasonings and tossed the chicken breasts in a ziploc bag and let them sit for a couple of hours. i used all the water which i also seasoned before putting in the chicken breasts to simmer. i shredded the chicken while it was reducing in the pan to absorb more of the flavors while cooking. i also wrapped them and sprayed them with low-fat cooking spray and cooked them in the oven at 400 degrees. for the sauce i used chicken broth instead of the bouillion cube i also added some of the "sauce" from the cooked chicken as well as some adobo and lemon juice for a little tang to compliment the spice..served with yellow rice and black beans and garlic. BIG HIT with the men in my house! thank you for the recipe i loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asmooch22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. The sour cream sauce made it even better. I doubled the spice ingredients and it still wasn't too over-powering. I would recommend to use less than 3 cups of water with the chicken because it took a while to evaporate. Overall, it was easy to make and a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My family loves this receipe!! We just roll it put them in a baking dish and pour the sauce over top. We didn't really like it deep fried. Excellet family dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe is insane! Took the following (4) user reviews and combined them as follows: "doubled seasonings"..."cut water in half"..."fresh garlic, instead of powder"..."more cayenne, less chili powder"...THEN I added my own twist by replacing green chiles with jalepenos. THERE ARE NO WORDS! (...not to mention splashing an occasional bite down with a sip of a fresh margarita)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is a really great recipe! We had extra large tortillas, so I used 3 chicken breasts instead of two, and doubled the spices. The filling has great flavor and the sauce compliments the chimis really well. Next time I think I will try baking the chimis instead of frying. Hopefully this will make the leftovers a little less soggy (and a little healthier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is a great and easy recipe! I did use fresh garlic instead of powder, and because I didn't have bouillon cubes I used chicken broth and didn't add water. Will definately make this again! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Delicious! I cut the water to 1 1/2 cups since others had recommended that. Added a little extra spice by way of salsa verde. I didn't make the sour cream sauce, but I did have butter/flour/cheese on hand, so I made a thin cheese sauce and added green chilies to it. Superb taste. I've never made chimis before, but now I'm not afraid. This chicken is very tasty! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheNatster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States