Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
the chimichangas were delicious, but the sauce was absolutely disgusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Katona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I loved this recipe. Instead of deep frying, I decided to bake them. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy C
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was good and easy to make. My husband wanted me to double the spices after reading some of the reviews, so I did and it wasn't too spicy. I let the liquid simmer as mentioned in the directions and it didn't take that long. I don't know what the big deal is. I used chicken stock instead of the chicken bouillon. Instead of frying I brushed each chimichanga with olive oil and baked in my convection oven at 400 until browned about 10 minutes. We all loved. I will definitely make this again. I might try it next time in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
One of my family's favorite recipes. Only change I make is I add a bouillon cube to the 3 cups of water to add more flavor to the chicken while it's cooking. Then I don't have to add it when making the sauce and the whole dish has a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Strachan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I did not add the cayenne pepper. I was afraid it would be too hot for my little ones. I have a 9, 6, and 3 year old. It turned out fabulous. Everyone licked their plates clean. My 3 year old ate an entire chimichanga. This dish isn't a quick fix for dinner, but it is delicious and will be added to our monthly rotation.??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I have made this several times and LOVE it. I have tweaked it a little to make it a little more flavorful and healthy too. Instead of water in the filling and in the sauce I just use chicken broth. And instead of 3 cups I use 2 for the filling. I also set my oven to 375 and brushed them with olive oil and put them in for about 15 or 20 minutes and flip them half way through. Basically until they're browned on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made these and everyone loved them. I took the advice of everyone else and added double the seasoning. I added garlic salt and cayenne pepper to the sauce and omitted the chillies in the sauce. I did triple the sauce recipe and added a quarter cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This probably the best recipe I have ever tried from All Recipes. It is absolutely delicious. As other reviewers stated, you must be PATIENT and let the water cook down. Trust me, the flavor and tenderness of the chicken is worth the wait. I doubled the cumin and onion powder. I also used minced garlic (doubled) instead of garlic powder. My kids don't like spicy foods yet so I only used 1/2 tsp of chili powder and barely a pinch of cayenne. For the sour cream sauce, I used chicken broth so I omitted the water and bouillon. I don't deep fry so I basted the tops of the chimichangas with melted butter and baked at 400 10-15 mins. TRULY OUTSTANDING! I make Mexican Rice II from the is site religiously and as another reviewer stated, it is a great accompaniment. I topped my chimichangas with a bit of guac and oh my gosh. Phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahayn92
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Amazing! Only thing I changed was I baked them instead of frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Seriously fantastic recipe. Have made this dish numerous times. It is a touch time consuming but well worth it for the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States